April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

BasedBall

by Neten - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Turn the world around to get to your goal.

Game made under 24 hours with Unity3D.
Scripted with UnityScript under the MonoDevelop IDE.
Textures created using Adobe Photoshop CS6.
A single model created using Autodesk Maya.

-Nedim "Net" Ibrahimkadic

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#538Fun3.00
#630Innovation3.03
#653Overall3.08
#946Theme3.11
#972Mood2.44
#1009Graphics2.44

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:08am

Nicely done... no sound heard, has been okay for other Unity web-player games. Minimal control system allows a lot... Slowdown/speedups cleverly done.

scriptorum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:12am

gg 2u2

xel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:13am

Really liked the simplistic controls and the core rotation mechanic. Managed to beat it after a few tries. Wish there were a few more levels that explored new obstacles!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:41am

Very nice concept. Definitely needs some checkpoints though or something.

Deadlyapps says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10am

Nice Concept, I thought the game could have used a little more in terms of graphics, faster rotating etc.. no sound either.

gabehollombe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:02am

Ooo, I really like the control scheme and mechanic. It'd be fun to play this on a phone. More levels and throw it in the app store!

guestcheap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:14am

A little short, but fine for a 48 hour game. I too would love to see it on the app store.

GetFun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:30am

Argh I'm not very good in this game. but I like it =D

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:17am

I like the concept. Fits the theme well. Reminds me of marble madness.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:51am

Any chance you can offer up the linux binary, or at least the windows.exe?

The web version does not work for me.

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:18am

Really like the elements you added to this game concept by using colored blocks that affect your possibilities of manipulation. I don't think it wasn't too hard. Only that last turn ...

messiano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:29am

Nice game, would play well on a phone!

HelkeGames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:41am

Interesting idea i liked the game! Great Job!

Alex Rose says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Awesome concept! Reminds me of an old SNES marble game, I forget the name. But really cool anyway. Nice one.

Doublecaster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:31pm

I liked your game. The end part was quite hard but I got past it. I wish it had more levels though :D

stqn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:20am

Need Linux or Windows build to be able to play this...

Neten says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:00am

Hey guys, thanks for all the ratings and comments, please keep them coming! I uploaded Windows, Linux and OS X versions of the game as well (could not test the Linux and OS X versions as I don't own any of those platforms).

Pinkerator says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:33am

Nice physics! Pretty hard game :)

Khaldrin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Nicely done and challenging. I HAD to get this mean last turn right. Controls felt good, graphic style fit the theme. Some music and sound would spice up the whole game. But overall I really liked it. GG to you.

vrinek says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:18pm

I really liked the way you introduce the mechanics to the player. The one thing I really really missed was some "bounce" to the ball and actually see it rolling (textures). Also rotating a little faster might be better.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]