April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cube Run

by crneumre - 48 Hour Compo Entry

W\Up - to jump to longer you hold it the longer the cube will jump.
c\Space-to shoot,shooting enemies gets you cash which gets you upgrades.
once you get the upgrades:
e- invincibility
f-Dash
s-To drop down

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#906Mood2.53
#917Theme3.15
#1090Fun2.35
#1111Overall2.60
#1126Graphics2.26
#1286Innovation1.89
#1689Coolness32%

Comments

mtrc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Nice mood here, and the minimalism in the graphics works to the game's benefit I think. Possibly too many things going on for an endless runner, and the jumping felt hard to predict, but I still enjoyed it a bunch.

Lizzip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Quite nice, flows well

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Its kinda glitchy, but i like the gameplay

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Very minimal, but not in a bad way.

fussycashew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:49pm

I wanted to like this game, but it just felt like the jumping was too unnatural, and I really couldn't get into it. It's going on my try again later list

TriBeard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Personally I would've dropped the shooting and given some more love to the jump mechanic. Jumping off the top of screen is abusable - you can jump over lasers etc. Some indicator to where you were going to land after jumping off the screen could've been useful. I had fun trying to master the jump though!

geckojsc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:20pm

I think the progression of upgrades was well chosen - each ability was useful in certain situations, keeping the game challenging instead of making it too easy.
I don't have any real criticisms except the slow pace, but that's just personal preference. :)

joekinley says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Oh my god that thing jumps up like crazy. It was very hard to grasp a proper control with this jump. I just kept falling apart, falling past platforms, or just jumping to death.
Also falling off a ledge killed me? That was kinda weird.

Still a nice idea making an endless runner with upgrades and all. Good job

nilstastic says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:05am

2043! :)

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Interesting...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]