April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Killing Time

by bobo72a - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made in Twine, Killing Time is a minimalist story game about a series of murders plaguing El Paso Texas in 1957.

Now available on a web server!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#420Mood3.07
#967Overall2.78
#1008Humor1.56
#1015Fun2.45
#1192Innovation2.13
#1211Theme2.68

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:45am

Pretty cool story. Serving the html as a google document seemed weird. Maybe you could throw it up on dropbox instead?

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03am

Hey, nice story writing!
Got me really interested in the story.

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:31am

Yo, this sent me to a the html code rather than the game (I imagine you want it to send you to a game.) Check out this article: https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/74/publishing-and-promoting-your-construct-2-game. I used it to get google drive to host my flash game (and actually play the game when you visited the link).

voxel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:05am

Would like to see a longer version of this. Also see if you can figure out a way of hosting this so we dont have to download it :) you'll get a lot more plays that way

gabehollombe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:06am

Well, I wasn't expecting to play a game with some violent descriptions, but yeah, hey, nice job on setting the mood. Although I didn't feel compelled to keep playing after I got murdered down the hall.

bobo72a says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:09am

Thanks for all the feedback everyone. I got my friend to upload the latest version to his web server, so now it's available to play immediately :)

baldwinthree says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10am

Seemed to be written in a noir-esque style. This was actually my first Twine game, but I enjoyed it nonetheless. Shame it's incomplete!

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:16am

Nice potato cameo.

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:22am

Lots of potential, here. Please finish it!

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05am

Nice story. I wish the rewind worked for me.

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:23am

To be continued?!!!! Noooooo!

svenardo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:47am

Nice. Always fun to play these fish out the water games. Should definitely flesh it out and make it longer!

Sestren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Reminds me a little bit of how Dark City starts out. I'm with everyone else here, it should be longer.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Hehehe, I had DOSBOX and even downloaded CWSDPMI to try this out. It is minimalist to the max! Well done. :D

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Argh, sorry, I posted in the wrong page!! Have fixed the score.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Kept me busy for a bit, but after a while I got a bit bored. I like how most of it is very concise. The intro was nice, but it didn't really manage to grab me.

protensity says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:59pm

I liked it - wish it was longer and had a real ending.

savethejets1 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:42am

To be continued?!!! NOOOO

May 7, 2013 @ 10:30pm

I enjoyed this. You've done a pretty good job on the film noir murder mystery ambience. Reminded me a bit of the old NES game "Déjà Vu". The unusual writing style works pretty well. The story isn't hugely original, but you've created a good sense of horror. In game terms, this is solid Twine work.

Nice way to bring in potatoes, too.

I must admit I was a bit disappointed to find that


SPOILERS

... I got a "to be continued" message the moment the story seemed to be going somewhere.

END SPOILERS


But that just testifies to the story sucking me in. Nice interactive story.

May 7, 2013 @ 10:31pm

"Deja Vu", even. Dang messageboard not allowing accents...

filtoid says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 11:46am

Nice - I died p quickly but went back to play again - I like it. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]