April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Color Blind

by Alec Von Arx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple game where you must identify the color of the square in the middle of the screen. The square will shrink for every correct guess. How sharp are your eyes? Can you find the Potato???



My first LD, pretty happy with it :) Although I didn't get to adding sound to it... Made using javascript and the canvas to draw.

///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
// This game would not have been possible without the //
// University of Minnesota's Video Game Development Club //
// and their "common" library. Thanks to you guys and to //
// Buyu for hosting my game! <3 //
///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#153Theme4.00
#411Innovation3.30
#802Humor1.90
#874Fun2.64
#914Overall2.83
#1103Mood2.25
#1150Graphics2.21
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

DaveDobson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:14am

I could not find the potato. I did get bonus mode, though. I couldn't figure out what it did - I won again after winning the first time and it didn't seem any different. Fun idea, good execution, not much game (but I guess that's the minimalism). Surprisingly fun.

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:45am

Interesting concept, pretty fun for a while.. Also my eyes hurt now, thanks :P

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:45am

No potato for me. It's a cute little game though!

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:51am

Neat game, though it feels kind of like a guessing game at 16... I liked it.

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:04am

A nice little game. Some nice beeps and boops would be good

Alec Von Arx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:43am

Thanks for the feedback everyone!

@DaveDobson: I made it so once you unlock bonus mode it will automatically select it for you (I think this is what you were confused about).

@daniel: I was thinking about putting a screamer after you get 16 haha be glad i didn't have enough time!

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:16am

Deceitfully simple, after 10 points it was hard to even notice there's a block there at all =)

meszka says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Neat idea. Could be nicer with some sort of time limit, and with not-so-impossible sizes at the end ;) If the player was forced to be quick, I think even relatively large squares could be mixed up in a panic.

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:26am

Did not win but... I would totally play the hell out of a fully featured version of this game, if just to prove my superior sense of color matching. Really good for your first LD.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:26am

Fun idea! The period where you see it going to the wrong color and want to switch is agonizing :P

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:10am

Nice and minimal! Good to know I'm not colourblind :D Great job sticking with the theme!

Super Hamster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:11am

The only challenge about it was that the things got so tiny I couldn't even see them but it has potential. (By the way, I am actually colorblind slightly :D)

messiano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:15am

At first I thought: what a terrible idea! But somehow it worked and I played 5 times until I almost scored 16. Kudos on being original and very minimal!

cahman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:47am

A very fun little game and a good take on minimalism! I tried cheating by cranking my resolution way down and using the windows magnifier. Didn't help, I still couldn't get past 12. It's probably my monitor ;)

JoeDev_net says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Very clever game and fits the theme perfectly. Great job! I got to 14 several times, but after that it was really just a guess for me.

Also, you commented on my game that you couldn't play because you have a Mac, well there is now a Web build, so hopefully you will be able to play it.

nintendoeats says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:30am

I'm actually red/green colourblind and I easily got to 12, which as far as I can tell is the most that anybody could do at the game's current resolution. So I don't know how well this game works.

mramaizng says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:56am

i enjoyed this. very simple idea and kept my attention till i beat it. nice job!

Spiridios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:27am

#15, on my monitor, the color that came up might as well have been white. I inspected the pixel's color. It was fffffb.

May 3, 2013 @ 5:57am

Interesting. I won after 3-4 tries. The last 2-3 were more luck than anything. It was either semi invisible (yellow) or obviously the dark red. Very interesting visualization.

sittaman says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:06am

As a colorblind I have to say, your game is amazing !!!

bobo72a says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:29pm

VGDC 4 lyfe

niun says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:50pm

huh, really enjoyed this. Simple but lots of fun. For some reason - hangover and twitchy fingers I guess - I'm really, really bad at it. :/

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:20pm

My eyesight not good enough for the later levels... What a strange game!

visibleatom says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:26pm

It does get frustrating trying to judge the color value of one pixel, but it's a good game. Is it actually possible for colorblind people to play this?

docix says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:49pm

So good and so simple!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Not much game, but interesting idea, in accordance with the theme. My best score was 14 :)

tsb says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:39am

Funny, I zoomed in the screen is that cheationg :3

Alec Von Arx says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:01am

@Spiridios The smallest size that the colored square gets is actually 0.1 pixels (you can check the source, line 38ish in "mainGame.js"), and it is not a dom element, so yeah the pixel value should be close to all white. It's pretty tough to tell once it gets down there, but it is definitely possible! haha

Alec Von Arx says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:06am

@sittaman thanks so much dude! You are awesome!
@visibleatom Not too sure... I feel like it would depend on the type of colorblind-ness... One of my friends who play tested the game had real troubles with the red/yellow level but had a much easier time with purple/blue level while another friend had the opposite experience.
@tsb all fair in my book haha although you can get the information much easier from the console/debugger

pikmin4000 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Simple sweet game. After ten, though I had to zoom in the game (sorry for cheating!) anyways, I had a highscore of like 12. I'm not sure how it could get any smaller- perhaps some sound effects would be an improvement

infernet89 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Very interesting idea, but becomes impossible after not too much, with a low resolution monitor.

euwaku says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:29am

A new reference game for designers? :D

JonRB says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:17am

I'm unfortunately afflicted with a line of red and yellow dead pixels down the middle of this screen, so the game became quite difficult at about 12. Frustratingly made it to 15 a number of times. Occasionally fucked up and pressed the wrong button and given the movement time it would be nice if it let you change during the glide.

Pinkerator says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:22am

Original idea :) Nice first game on LD!
It's really hard to match color after "11"

geepit says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:41am

Nice concept, fun game

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]