April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pongless

by Otoris - Jam Entry

Pongless is Ping Pong without the "Pong"

Controls:
A/D or Left/Right Arrow to rotate your beam.
SPACE to activate the force push.

The goal is to knock the ball into the blue opponent's goal post.

There is a gravitational force around both goal posts that can be used to your advantage occasionally.

A minimal take on Pong - By http://ajaxstudios.com

Credits: Tareoflight - Designer, Otoris - Developer
(For the record: First project in Unity ever! :D)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#97Innovation(Jam)3.52
#227Audio(Jam)3.05
#350Theme(Jam)3.08
#353Overall(Jam)2.92
#382Graphics(Jam)2.80
#410Fun(Jam)2.52
#1535Coolness40%

Comments

Ty Taylor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:08am

It feels like the opponent has much more control than I do.

epaik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:34am

The ball got stuck rotating around me, I couldn't dislodge it despite spamming space.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:36am

The AI is way better at this than I am.

The rotation doesn't feel smooth, which makes it a bit hard to aim precisely (are you using float or int for the rotation?). Also, the force push feels a little short.

I really liked the sounds. Glad to see more people learning Unity.

3beards says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:37am

I enjoyed the chill music and wooshy air sounds. Neat idea.

Deadlyapps says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:38am

I second this comment: It feels like the opponent has much more control than I do.

Lianne Booton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:38am

I like the audio and concept, but like a previous commenter said, I do feel like the opponent had a better control than I did. For a first project in Unity this is impressive though, so kudos :)

Almax27 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:39am

Interesting idea, maybe using the mouse to control rotation would be more intuitive? The AI kind of ruins the experience and there were odd instances where the ball wouldn't respond to the 'push', but I could see this working well with 2 human players.

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:04am

Yeah, AI is better than me and seems to be able to vacuum in the puck, whereas I can't. However, I liked the idea. There's lots of variations on pong, and this is the first time I've seen this type.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Nice twist on the pong style game. Really enjoyed it.

acro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Fun take on classic pong but the AI seems to be too difficult, either that or I'm just really bad :( I like the music, the game kind of looks like 2 lighthouses signaling to eachother :)

pentaphobe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Really cool idea, with a little tweaking I could quite happily play this as a relaxing game.

Can you actually beat the AI? I'd love to see a video

Otoris says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:16am

You can TOTALLY beat the AI. ;)

It's just ridiculously hard.

@arco Never thought of them as lighthouses until now! Great... Thanks. -_-

The control scheme isn't perfect and I would definitely do mouse controls, or at least a smooth acceleration with keyboard.

Grouflon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Very interesting entry, kind of hard to control but I scored twice, so I feel good about it... It could be great to have a little more control in the rotation of the green light, I think it's way too fast and the "step by step" is to large. Anyway it's a great turnover on the pong mechanic, I appreciate it :)

Otoris says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:27pm

@Grouflon I don't understand what you mean by "step by step"?

SnoringFrog says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:44pm

I'm just going to echo what almost everyone else has said so far: love the idea, but the AI is too difficult (and on top of that I sucked at knocking the ball away from myself anyways).

messiano says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:14am

AI needs some tweaks!

peaveyj says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:53am

Fun implementation and interesting take on pong. Seems well polished to me. Nice job.

GameNacho says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Cool game, I like it!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]