April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

I Want To See Space

by Perspicacity1 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first ever entry for Ludum Dare.

Blue wants to go to space. The easiest way to do that is to just go up.

There is no music because 48 hours is not enough time for me to understand how music works.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#86Mood3.69
#87Humor3.49
#470Fun3.08
#520Overall3.20
#559Theme3.53
#650Innovation3.00
#993Graphics2.47
#1010Audio1.71

Comments

onzephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Loved the story and mood it set. Narrative heavy and gameplay light. But the story was well written and executed well. It was a pleasure to play.

errorage says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:50pm

That was fun :) I saw space!

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:22am

Okay this was awesome. The only thing I can say negative about this is that I found myself wanting to hold UP to get to the next dialog bit, and then it'd auto-skip some of reds dialog, which was a shame. Other than that, if it had some sound and music I'd have really enjoyed it but I think even without it was really cool. I half expected red to turn out to be a figment of my imagination by the time I got to the top, great writing and great little game!

Purplescape says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:08am

I really liked this game. It's an innovative use of Adventure Game Studio, I was expecting a typical point & click. The story was really nice. I would like to see space, too.

ZYXer says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Man, why is the red square always such a pessimist? I hate that guy. ;-)
Great dialog!

Fnkee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Great game! Would like some music to this! Great story.

Zccc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Very fun story!!

ohsqueezy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:16am

What a wonderful game and story! The spirit of youth and humanity!!

KevinZuhn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:18am

I really enjoyed the story. I played a second time and was surprised when saying that I wasn't really going to build the tower ended the game immediately! It's so easy to quit, but takes constant effort and reassurance to move forward.

noddy2006 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:01am

I genuinely laughed at some of the dialogue - great stuff!

SuperDisk says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:22am

Neat story, but not a game. Nonetheless, pretty deep.

Natedog9145 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:45am

Very interesting game! I had fun playing. ;)

Alphonsus says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:01am

Love the conversation and the story. :) Music would be nice though. Keep it up!

marnaouf says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:41am

Lovely game. Music would've made it a little better but even without the music it had a nice mood and humor to it and was generally fun to watch the conversation play out.

lorancou says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:46pm

I enjoyed space, saw the credits, liked it a lot. Also, that pop up prompted me to ask for support: http://img203.imageshack.us/img203/4506/iwanttoseespace.png. So here I am for after-sales service: does this mean I actually didn't go to space? Or that I'm stuck there?

Binary Gambit says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 12:57am

Great short story. Got a minor bug with a button being visible on the screen that does not go away. The rest was fabulous.

hissssssssss says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:01am

This was a really nice story. I liked trying to pull Red into the fantasy, encouraging him into space. Once choice said it all: "I made it" vs. "We made it."

May 13, 2013 @ 7:12am

That was a lot of fun. The banter worked really well, and I had a good sense of who these characters were in such a short amount of time. Would like more game to it, but maybe that's a project for the future!
I'll agree with the comment above mine, the final dialogue choice was fantastic, and really hit that relationship home. I went back to play it again so I could go 'down,' and was pleased with how that ending played out as well. Great job.

Blinked says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 3:58am

Nice job, loved the story :)

Mach60KAS says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:18am

That was nice, well done! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]