April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

rainwalkers

by nuprahtor - Jam Entry

Controls
WASD - movement
Mouse - camera view
Left Mouse Button - action
Right Mouse Button - proceed dialog
1 - write "I'm here" message
2 - write "Hello" message
3 - write "Rain" message
4 - write "Farewell" message

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
Mood(Jam)4.42
#51Graphics(Jam)4.16
#58Innovation(Jam)3.73
#130Overall(Jam)3.51
#157Audio(Jam)3.31
#208Theme(Jam)3.44
#389Humor(Jam)1.65
#397Fun(Jam)2.56

Comments

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Excellent mood and (theoretically) interesting concept... but I wasn't able to meet any other rainwalker whatever I tried... i tried to leave marks on two places distant to each other and write messages there, going around... never met anyone, never seen any other sign, got bored... after two tries I quit (BTW some button on the game session terminated to restart would be nice)

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Really like the concept and the art style. Great job! :)

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:39pm

The art and mood in this game is breathtaking! Couldn't find any other rainwalkers unfortunately :s

LeafThief says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:59pm

No rainwalkers here either. Kept looking for them but nothing. What a beautiful city and atmosphere.

TheSheep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Is there any chance for a linux build? Unity Web Player won't work here...

nodoxi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:36pm

I just saw someone leaves marks near me!
We said "Hello", then "Rain" and phone rang!
Game said that I never met any rainwalker, but I khow: it was him!

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Added linux build. I can't test it, but it should work.

TheSheep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:44pm

A very cool idea -- if it is, as I assume, a multiplayer game. Shame that I didn't meet anybody in there. Extremely moody. The linux build indeed works fine, thank you!

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:32am

I impressed with architecture and mood.
Really good =)

CyberYeti says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:33am

Wonderful tone throughout the entire game. I really enjoyed the setting and the story, while i didn't see any rainwalkers, the mere concept of their existence intrigued me throughout my time playing. Wonderful Job.

shinestrength says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:59am

I was thinking - would the rainwalker look like me? What do I look like? I was expecting to see No Face from Spirited Away peering round one of those corners. Loved it, no rainwalkers met.

Andrewves says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:55am

Amazing atmosphere and mood, good job.

NiallM says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:22am

I too never met any rainwalkers, but this is really, really nice. I love the setting and the aesthetics of it.

RobKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:20am

I love the idea. Though a balance of minimalism would be needed perhaps adding cars with bright lights would keep players to the sidewalks.

dvdking says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:24am

I guess those rainwalkers are just myth. Or main character is crazy and thinks he's not alone. It was great! Even though gameplay is primitive, but having feeling that at some moment you are going to meet one of rainwalkers is very intriguing

antonijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:26am

Interesting idea and great artwork for the mood of the game. Didn't find any rainwalkers though, which is a shame :(

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:37am

Very great mood !

dick_claus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Failed to download data file :(

Pierrec says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:38pm

I feel I already played that game of yours...twice ^^
These graphics were use in one of your previous game, right ?
And I suppose the concept is quite the same than Composition 37's one ?
Anyway, Great mood as always, and still a great concept if I'm not wrong.

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:56pm

I used concept of indirect interaction between the players. It also uses some code, graphic and sound assets from my other games, but the overall concept is quite different.

alvivar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:14pm

i found a million of rainwalkers, maybe. beautiful game.

3.14 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:58pm

You've created a beautiful virtual place. Great stuff! At the first text wall I was a bit confused and only after I have read the instructions here, I learned that it should have clicked ther right mouse button. That was confusing.

I too didn't meet any rainwalkers.

dook says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Best one for me so far! I'd love to play a longer game in this style. Exploring a huge city with more variations.

r3d5 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:16pm

no rainwalkers, but cool vibe!

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:53pm

It seems there are problems with web build hosting. Unity loader aborts with 'bad file length' error.

Jorjon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:22am

Great atmosphere. We need more games like this. It's a shame that, being multiplayer, I can't test it properly.

Dohan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:37pm

It feels so lonely writing alone in the rain. The mood for the game was just great.

Ragzouken says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Really beautiful. I had my volume too low at first and was mortified there was no rain sounds, but they were there after all. Really lovely mood. I saw no rainwalkers though :(

KevinZuhn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:59am

I'm beginning to doubt that there are any rainwalkers atall!

marnaouf says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:41am

Beautiful game

Armix says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:13pm

I really enjoyed playing this. The mood was tremendously amazing. I just wish that I could have met a fellow Rainwalker...

Jod says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Great mood. Sadly, I didn't meet any Rainwalkers.

SamoojaMies says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:43pm

forever rainwalker

kibertoad says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:08pm

in theory, this could make a good endless forrest-like mmo with no violence.

Misael.K says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Such a magical experience! Marvelous work.

I communicated several times with another rainwalker. I never once saw him or her. But we were there, together, under the rain. Walking, and leaving our oh so temporary marks.

May 5, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Is there a way to meet rainwalkers?

HD408 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:44am

Rather depressive, and somehow touching. I liked this game session.

Are says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:57pm

i love the idea of this game. and this thrill when you're waiting for another rainwalker.

MinionStudios says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:00am

Excellent game, so moody! I love it!

May 9, 2013 @ 7:55am

I'm guessing that there really aren't any Rainwalkers at all, and the player is just crazy. :) I scribbled quite a lot and never found anything, and that was after just wandering around trying to find already existing scribbles.

I kept thinking that vague mist-like formations in the distance had to be Rainwalkers, but then had to conclude it was just fog effects.

Really great mood though, with wonderful graphics and a great take on the theme. :)

lotusgame says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:44pm

A strange game with a very good atmosphere. I didn't find any rainwalkers.. but i wonder if it is in fact a multiplayer game with no player around and that's why i didn't find them. So mysterious !

SnoringFrog says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:09am

Hm...interesting. I'm on board with the group that thinks the main character is crazy.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]