April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

My Hair Is On Fire

by Ofursnati - 48 Hour Compo Entry

video of the game: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UOnpbwWNy_c&feature=youtu.be

Requires XNA framework to play. the setup should let you know if you need to download it.

sounds for the song downloaded from http://synthgeek.skincontact.com/node/2

song made with MilkyTracker

sound effects/audio recorded with Reaper
www.reaper.fm/

Code done in C# XNA Visual Studio Express.

Sprites done in aseprite

The source is included in the windows download.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#63Humor3.59
#464Audio2.85
#478Fun3.07
#732Mood2.71
#848Overall2.90
#890Graphics2.61
#1024Innovation2.43
#1247Theme2.60

Comments

Gustera says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:58am

My hair is on fire!

ToastyAbraham says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:18am

Enjoyable but suffers from the enemies getting bunched up so the challenge doesn't increase.

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:19am

Argh! My Hair Is On Fire!

Hiku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:27am

I am the BucketMaster \o/

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:32am

damn, my hair is on fire!?!, nice game!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:01am

Rofl that's quite funny. Enemy stacking is a bit annoying as it means if you collide with the stack, you instantly die. Still a solid entry; well done.

Andrei Barsan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:03am

Pretty nice, though being slowed down the more damage you take is not very fun. :( Also, I don't really see what it has to do with the theme.

bushmango says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:07pm

I couldn't get to one of my buckets because it was out of the movable range :(

bushmango says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Oh wait, that was just me trying to pick up one of the buckets in the "bucket-o-meter", lol

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Nice game Well done!

feyleaf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:01pm

It's pretty good, simple and unexpected.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:54am

The moment I saw it's name and the attached screenshot I knew this was going to be fun. And it was! xD

Szedouu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:09am

very funny game!

MRvanderPants says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:13am

Simpel, fun, and addictive game. I ended up with four buckets after a few times.

erdos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:37am

The game is pretty simple but the music and sprites and premise make it awesome

GingerMess says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:17am

Augh, my hair is on fire!

This becomes particularly amusing when you figure "if I take all the flames at once, I can clear the level and just get the bucket. Can't fail!" But then you hear

AAAAAUUUUGGGGGHHHH MMMMYYYY HHAAAIIIRRR IIIISSSS OONNNNN FFFFFIIIREEEEE

and you die. Marvellous.

antonijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Little note for next time: you mustn't download sounds from anywhere. You must create all content within the 48 hours (read the rules).

Ofursnati says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Thanks you guys.
The only downloaded sounds I used were the free synth samples used to make the song. I thought it would be alright if I made the song myself. Everything else is all mine.

Jonny D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:36pm

@antonijn I think the sounds were specifically for the music, much like instrument samples.

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:15pm

You deserve a medal!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:19pm

lier lier hair on fire!

Great game.

avidgamerNino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:15pm

yea getting slower when lower health I did not like maybe just for a couple seconds then back to normal speed.

May 2, 2013 @ 3:06am

HAHAHAHAHHAHAH XD nice work! very funny game LOL

NateNaterson says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:50am

Audio got kind of annoying, but it's a fun enough little game.

naughtyloose says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Argh! My hair is on Fire!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]