April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Parabox

by Core43 - Jam Entry

Hi, thanks for trying out (or at least looking at) Parabox!

My first Ludum Dare has been quite successful; I hope the same is true for the rest of the participants.

Use WASD or the arrow keys along with the space bar to navigate. The rest you'll just have to figure out. ;)

For those running Windows, just run parabox.exe after extracting the .zip archive

For other operating systems, you'll need to get Blender 2.66 (or a newer version) from blender.org
Once you have Blender installed, just open run_parabox.blend after extracting the .zip archive
(If it doesn't start for some reason once Blender opens, try pressing the P key)

UPDATE:
Opening levels from the Level Select now plays background music and teleport sfx like it's supposed to
Level 20 has been adjusted slightly to fix problems people have had with perspective. The solution to the level is still the same.
Level 21 no longer has duplicate textures/materials.
Pressing Escape during any level will now return you to the menu.

Known Problems:
Some computers have crashed on the Level Select while trying to open level 24.
Some ATI graphics cards are not supported by Blender's GLSL.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#30Mood(Jam)3.86
#75Overall(Jam)3.67
#79Fun(Jam)3.52
#121Theme(Jam)3.70
#139Audio(Jam)3.38
#147Graphics(Jam)3.70
#170Humor(Jam)2.61
#278Innovation(Jam)2.94

Comments

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:05am

Mad props for using blender!

I had fun playing this game, I was intrigued to continue further. I had a bit of difficulty with the controls in the beginning though, it was a little disorienting at first.

Really nice and clean graphics. The shadows are nice to look at.

The music was pretty melancholic. I feel like the block guy has a rough life and you're helping him out...or something like that :P

Lianne Booton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:01am

This is rad, I love the audio and it controls nicely. Great puzzle design too :)

Core43 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:03am

@ddionisio Thanks for commenting. :)
The mood/tone of the game changed over time, but I never did get around to changing the music with it before the end. It probably should have been a little bit more lighthearted. =p

Core43 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:04am

@Lianne Booton
Thanks! :)

Gungnir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:14am

Very nice! Great level design. I think it would have been more visually striking without the black shadows on objects, it's so clean otherwise. Would have been nice to have a light grid texture on open floor too.

Qaterknan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:17am

I really liked the graphics and the audio, and so I enjoyed playing as well. It is known concept, but I liked it anyway.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:22am

Very enjoyable puzzle game! I loved the art style and the puzzles themselves were enjoyable, though it's more of a jumping puzzler than an actual logic puzzler, but that's fine.

The one big downside, and it is a significant one, is that it can be nearly impossible to tell which blocks are at what vertical level. I think that's just an inherent problem with this view style, though, and some effort was made to have a distinction, with vertically distant blocks being fogged out. It's still not visually intuitive for jumping, requiring a lot of restarts, but at least those restarts happen quickly. I never got frustrated.

Great job!

TehSkull says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:29am

The shadowing is the most annoying thing in the game. The character being the light source made the shadows very distracting. Gameplay was a slight glitchy, especially in the icy parts, but other than that, all good.

snoozbuster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:29am

Great job, buddy. I love how it came out, and how, even though you only had 72 hours, there's still fragments of a storyline you could grasp through the titles. A perfect example of minimalism, in that you put no more than necessary and still made something amazing. Puzzle games are a special challenge, since puzzle design can be really difficult.
Honestly, I really liked the music. Even though the game had humor to it, it still retained a semi-serious, beautiful feel, almost as if its the story of someone going through a rough time, but still remembering the good parts.

Great job, and I hope you do well.

bowlercaptain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:33am

Pretty fun. Very simple, fits the theme well, though the mechanic wasn't terribly unique. Very pretty, and the song was nice. I don't exactly know the limits and abilities of Blender's interactive mode, but I would maybe advise moving to a framework with better built-in physics handling next time, so you can spend more time on what makes the game unique. If you're already a blender modeler, you may find that it plays nicely with Unity, which is a pretty solid framework.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:12am

Great game, amazing that it was done in blender.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:20am

It's good, it's fun, it's relaxing !

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:27am

Fun game, strange ending.

kbm0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Great entry, minimalistic graphic and piano music always go well together. You managed to use the game mechanics as metaphors for storytelling, that's hard to do.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Very fun and somewhat enriched experience that had a good amount of content. The story felt it had more to it, the Piano track was soothing and kept the pace of the game well in thought. It had a nice graphic style and screen filter, though some weird things sometimes did happen with shadows as our character block seemed to have been a source of light. Liked some of the concepts behind levels, though I still do no understand cat. Very enjoyable.

kacperski1 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Really good game, but becomes boring after few levels :/

snoozbuster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:36pm

@AestheticGamer: What was the very first level called? =p

porglezomp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:45pm

It crashes when I click the play button. I'm disappointed, since it looks really fun.

ramoncb says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Amazing BGE game! Simple and with good level design!

the ice blocks level is pretty hard xD

Core43 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:20pm

@Gungnir
Thanks! In hindsight, it would have been a really good idea to add a light grid. =p

@Qaterknan
Thanks for playing! :)

@Cybearg
Thanks for the feedback; if I decide to continue working on this, I'll be sure to make sure that I take that into account for all of the levels. :)

@TehSkull
I agree, the shadows didn't turn out as well as I had hoped. Those icy parts required quite a bit of fudging to make it even remotely work, but I'm glad you gave it a shot. Thanks!

@snoozbuster
I really would have liked to have made it longer, but oh well. Thanks for the compliments!

@bowlercaptain
Thanks. Blender's game engine is pretty limited and doesn't have the best of physics, so I was seriously considering learning Unity just for this, but I didn't know how fast I'd be able to pick it up, so I just went with what I knew how to use. I'll make sure to give Unity a go before next time. :)

@silentspartan72 and EdoMiyamoto
Thanks for playing!

@dalbinblue
Yes, yes it is. =p

@kbm0
Thank you. :)

@AestheticGamer
If you read the text in the first level again, you might understand why it ends the way it does. ;)

@kacperski1
Thanks for giving it a try anyways. :)

@porglezomp
I've looked into this, but I can't seem to figure out why; dose it work if you choose level 0 in the level select?

@ramoncb
Thanks! I had a bit of trouble with the ice myself. =p

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:06am

Nice and simple. But I cannot get used to arrow keys being used for diagonal movement, there was another game which was the same way and I had a very hard time with that one too. Maybe QWAS instead of WASD would work? I could also hear some high frequency fuzz, presumably from resampling the piano track to a different sample rate without filtering.

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:52am

One of the best entries I've played so far. Excellent storytelling, music, graphics, and, above all, level design. I really enjoyed it, except for the "Can we still be friends?" level. That was just evil :)
Nice work!

I, too, would recommend switching to Unity for game dev while sticking to Blender for graphics. The two play together really well.

Jellycakes says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:26am

Pretty cool. Enjoyed the visual effects and I liked the gameplay, very minimalist. Nice one.

Core43 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:50pm

@Dietrich Epp
Thanks for the feedback! I'll make sure to look into that; the controls could definitely use some work. :)
I apologize about the audio; I had to lower the quality greatly because Blender only supports .wav files and I wanted to keep the filesize down.

@Julian Ceipek
Thanks, I'll be sure to check out Unity!

@Jellycakes
Thanks! :)

kddekadenz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Does not work properly, maybe because I'm having Blender 2.5 installed..

May 2, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Hmm, I really enjoyed this at first but it started getting realy frustrating later on when I couldn't tell what the vertical position of the blocks were. I had to stop playing at the "let's take a picture" level because I was getting to angry at the game. That being said the game is very impressive for a Ludum Dare game. The graphics look very nice and polished and the music works for what it is. I'm also very impressed with the amount of mechanics and content you managed to put into the game. The jumping controls got incredibly frustrating at times, though.

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:37pm

I really liked this, was also amazed that this is a Blender game. I found the story and the characters very endearing, perhaps the player as a light source could be used to to show the difference in some perspectives (where the platforms actually are in real space compared to the player. Thoroughly enjoyable, Well Done =]

Core43 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:29am

@kddekadenz
Are you trying to run the .blend file? If so, I can't guarantee it will work without having Blender 2.66 or newer.

@EricTheCoolDude
You were just a couple levels from the end right there. =p
Thanks for taking the time to get as far as you did and give feedback. :)

@Alucard J
Thanks for playing and the suggestion! :)

brxtr says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:57am

I liked the menu, although it was a little glitchy. The platforming was solid, except for the irritating lack of diagonal movement and general glitchiness when moving from one surface to another. The level design was all right, but coupled with the slow movement of the player and objects in the world, levels did become a little boring.

naughtyloose says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:45pm

awesome game. I loved the music. It created a certain relaxed mood.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]