April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal Run

by calimeraw - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi there!
It's my first time participating to a ludumdare, I started it relatively late... but I am happy of the result.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#565Audio2.69
#714Humor2.00
#748Innovation2.89
#802Mood2.63
#843Fun2.67
#885Theme3.19
#996Overall2.74
#1009Graphics2.44
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Tahooey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05am

Very Good Game, but it appears the Web version is broken, other than that, Great!

badlogic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:56pm

The little twist of only being able to change direction when hitting a wall elevates it from the rest of similar entries. We'll done (still stuck on level 3 :p)

glbs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Wow, I'm stuck on the third level and I don't know if it's normal or what? It's a shame, I really liked the game mechanic, and the brain twist it creates.

calimeraw says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:48pm

The third level seems problematic. Well there is a trick to pass it. You can make a jump by falling. Then if you hit a wall, you can do wall jump. Then you should be able to access the exit. For the web version I did see some artifact on firefox... but It seems not working so well depending on the web browser... Thanks for your comments. I will improve my works in the future.

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:19pm

I love runners, but i cant seem to play it.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Played the web version. The change of running direction is an interesting mechanic. The execution was not very good, and I got stuck soon.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:24pm

The web version is not loading, I'll wate for a working version to rate it :)

SuperDisk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:17am

I like it, however the controls were quite fickle, and it was really annoying when I had to backtrack when I could turn around.

calimeraw says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:33pm

OK! The web version is now able to load with chrome browser; there is still some glitch... For those which have a windows try this game with the executable. You'll have a better experience than with the web version :(

Jellycakes says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Nice, I liked the wall jumping mechanics combined with the direction switching. Made for some really difficult times but at the same time interesting. Good job!

nimblegorilla says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Nice idea and clean execution. The third level is kind of tricky, I think it would have been better to create a level with only a large gap to demonstrate the falling/jumping combo. Most games don't let you jump after you start falling off a platform so I didn't realize it was possible until I read the comments here.

mackthehobbit says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:49am

Pretty good, I like that game mechanic. Definitely fits the theme quite well.

lorancou says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Weird controls, I gave up in the fourth level I think. But congrats on finishing your first entry!

JonathanG says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:25pm

The web version worked for me! (Windows 7, Chrome) It's a good idea, but very difficult! Once you are travelling the wrong direction, there is not a lot of opportunity to correct yourself other than restarting. I couldn't get past level 3

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]