April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Match teh Octagonz

by dinos - Jam Entry

In this game there are some octagons in each level, and to win the level you have to rotate them so all their colored sides match.

Some octagons are linked with others so when you rotate them, they rotate another octagon too. Some rotate twice with each click, and some rotate clockwise or anticlockwise. The levels are all randomly generated.

There are no animations, sounds and next level (oops) yet because we've ran out of time :(

UPDATE (2013-05-10): We fixed the win condition bug (it should always tell you that you won now!) and the IE issues (wmode and font) :D

Made by Konstantinos Pappas and Leonidas Tsekouras.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#259Theme(Jam)3.29
#360Innovation(Jam)2.68
#514Mood(Jam)1.53
#516Graphics(Jam)2.17
#528Overall(Jam)2.26
#528Fun(Jam)2.00
#1744Coolness28%

Comments

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Some of the colors are too similar. I am having trouble playing the game and am not at all colorblind. Someone who is colorblind is likely to be unable to play this at all.

As far as gameplay goes, I feel like this would benefit from scoring or a timer.

evilseanbot says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:42am

I would put in another vote as too difficult to distinguish colors :)

Phase says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:02am

The concept is interesting, but there's just not enough polish. Again, the color similarities are a bit irritating. I would expect a game like this to have a move counter, and maybe some way to rotate in different directions.

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:08am

Found it tricky to tell rotation direction, I mean obviously you can see it, but a spin/rotate or some movement "lines" like in a cartoon would be nice. Couldn't get it into my head sufficiently to try to solve other than by brute force (set one, try next... try next... etc. until no possibility then go backwards... kinda like Prolog trying to match state!) Needs a bit more I think... even just thicker lines might help a lot

May 1, 2013 @ 4:51am

I agree with the others on difficulty to distinguish color choices, and would like to add that perhaps if the bars were thicker (or even completely filled in the hexagons with color) they would be easier to tell apart. I do love puzzle games, and I think if you made specific levels in increasing difficulty rather than procedurally generated levels it could be really fun!

-Rosypenguin
(This is a team account)

amijlee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:29am

You have an interesting concept, I hope you take some time to develop it.

Ismei says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:58am

I didn't actually find it that hard to tell between the colours. I like the idea, it's simple but you have to focus to see when the colours match.
I would be interested to see how it would progress in the next levels.

iximeow says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:59am

I got "This application is not correctly embedded (wrong wmode value)" under IE9 on Windows 7 64bit. Works fine in Chrome and Firefox though.

Letting the player know when a correct solution is formed would be helpful, as would adding a bit of space between octagons, along with better colour selections as others have pointed out.

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:05am

It's hard. As hell. Good concept though.

May 1, 2013 @ 11:51am

Nice concept! Thicker lines/segments would be helpful to distinguish colors. Also it was not clear to me at first that some octagons were connected by grey segments, and that I had to match them as well. Some levels with increasing difficulty would be nice, since the first one I got was quite complicated. ;)

lotusgame says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Great concept. I was not disturb by the similar color.
It's a little to difficult at first. Don't know where to begin.
It would be better with level begining with less octogon. Hope you'll take time to improve it

Cryovat says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:20pm

I'm a fan of the concept, but I'll join the "too hard" crowd. Would it be possible to tweak the game design so that it was a bit more obvious where to "start"?

mchaza says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:33pm

overall nice concept but as all the others mentioned, colors are too similar and maybe some simple tutorial would be great

iamorim says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Too hard for a game that doesn't let you choose a difficulty. But the idea is very very good. Try to change some things :)

Demurgos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:54pm

In this comment I won't say like others that the game is hard... but that it's buggy.
I had this situation : http://i.snag.gy/qBTkg.jpg
I checked with a color picker that these are exactly the same colors facing each others but nothing happens. Or I did not undertand the rules...

jhrrsn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:59pm

It's hard to distinguish between the colors which is aggravating

dinos says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:45pm

We want to thank you all for your comments and your suggestions. We really appreciate it. We're glad you like our game's concept!

We didn't have a lot of time for testing. This is our first Ludum Dare so we had some problems with time management :P As a result of that, there is a win condition bug in some particular situations. We will upload an update soon.

You're absolutely right about the similarity of the colors. We will change them in the next version (after the jam) and add a link for that version as well. We will also add some more things in the new version, which will have difficulty levels and more things according to your feedback!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]