April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Towers of Rage

by robotality - Jam Entry

Towers of Rage
****************

A minimalistic beat 'em up game! Fight your way through towers of baddies and get the revenge you've been waiting for. We hope you enjoy the few minutes of madness!

Controls:
A/D/Left/Right: Walk
N: Punch
M: Kick

There's a total of 12 different combos. Bonus points for anyone that finds our little Easter Egg!

This game uses Java. On Win/Mac you can simply double click the jar to execute. On linux you might have to execute via command line: "java -jar TowersOfRage.jar"

Credits
*******
Concept, Art + Level Design: Simon Bachmann
Code, Music & Sfx: Stefan Bachmann

Made with libgdx, GraphicsGale, Pyxel & lots of coffee.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#24Overall(Jam)3.97
#27Fun(Jam)3.80
#33Graphics(Jam)4.33
#61Humor(Jam)3.26
#64Theme(Jam)3.93
#84Audio(Jam)3.59
#91Mood(Jam)3.57
#242Innovation(Jam)3.07

Comments

atlantian says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:36am

Won't open on os/x. I have the latest java version.Looking forward to playing it.

Gornova says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:40am

really nice idea, works fine on windows xp 32bit with java6.

I love style, with more time and good moves could be a minimalistic double dragon "sort-of" game :D

mollymus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:26am

I love how you managed to make fighting animations with 3-4 pixels! Game was quite easy, but very cool!

robotality says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:50am

@atlantian: it does work on os/x, however only with Java 6. Working on a fix.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:11am

Really easy, but I enjoyed it very much. Cool graphics! Loved every pixels. :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:34am

haha nice one!

JaydenB says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:45am

Absolutely loved it. Only thing I feel like I can comment on is that footstep sounds was way too loud and the character seemed a little slow (that's probably because I just wanted to complete this awesome thing faster!)

namuol says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:52am

*Shoutout from a fellow libGDX user* (although my entry is uses an unreleased HTML5 engine)

Love the tiny animations!

The gameplay was too repetitive/easy to be fun for very long -- if things moved faster and you incorporated some kind of combo system, or even just offered a "difficult" setting, I could see myself playing this for extended periods.

Nonetheless, great entry -- Bonus points for a decent soundtrack!

Markavian says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:54am

Badass.

miharbi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:56am

Amazing Game. The graphics were simple yet clear and the whole aesthetic of the game was really cool and looked great. I also really enjoyed the audio and the music. The game, itself, was really fun and I like how you took a fighting game and made it "minimal".

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:05am

The game looks, sounds and feels awesome, but it lacks challenge.

rxi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:12am

Loved the hyper realistic blood and violence. This reminded me of them 3 pixel drawings of The Simpsons characters. It's quite amazing what you can portray with such little information.

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:21am

Great game!
Beautiful pixel art

stromchin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:25am

Awesome! Can't believe you can get so much out of so few pixels

pereubu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:27am

hahahahaha i love the aesthetic, the animations are great.
The only bad thing is, i think, the slowness.

Super nice job overall

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:28am

Awesome game, a little hard for me, but I love the graphics and i think you have a minimalistisk theme :D
Very awesome pixelart!

Flai says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:31am

Great graphics and pretty good sounds too :) The gameplay itself was fun for a while but then just got repetitive, especially since you only had to smash the kick/punch button. But still, it was a great game and the mood was awesome :) Good job!

3.14 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:32am

The graphics is gorgeous! The gameplay could be a bit faster and more intense - with more variation like jumping and weapons (but maybe I don't understand the combo system).

B says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:37am

Love the graphics! Great gameplay and awesome sound effects.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:45am

I like the game overall, but it looks too easy and sometimes repetative.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Great job! Had a fun time playing it, and it all looks and feels fantastic :)

reverso13 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:30pm

I really like it!! Great minimalistic graphics and great gameplay. The only thing I would have added is "jumping", it will give the game a more depth combat. Only my opinion :P

ArkadyDracul says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Nice

metalcan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Loved the graphics and sound! Really cool little game. I didn't like that when I punch or kick, I have to press the movement keys again to start moving, and it would be fun to be able to jump, but it's still amazing.

Sestren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:04pm

As a huge fan of Streets of Rage, I really appreciate this take on it. The punch and kick animations, despite being only a couple of pixels, are effective.

RobKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Love this, really makes me want to bust out streets of rage again. Great Game.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:28pm

A lovely pixel art! Special thanks for beat 'em up! I want to mention it would be ideal if the camera would have been closer!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:57pm

That was a fun time !

Jhelle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Loved the graphics in your game. The gameplay was a bit simple but would like to see a more expanded version of this game.

Blizzil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:41pm

From every perspective (gameplay, art, audio) - a really nice game!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:13pm

looks awesome, and plays great! :)

wonderwhy-er says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Well, its sure minimalistic :)
Love graphics but got repetitive too fast.

bytegrove says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Cutest blood effects I've ever seen! :D Very nice art style and execution, I really like the fighting mechanic. My only complaints are that the main character moved a little too slow imo, and the boss guy was too easy to kill. Other than that, awesome game, really fun!

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Great game! I love how you guys were able to convey so much gruesome violence with by just moving one or two pixels on three pixel characters. Also, the diversity of enemy visuals on just changing the colors of three pixels? Brilliant!

jadams says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Amazing how much you've expressed the combat in a handful of pixels.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:35pm

I know it's hard on such a small scale but more moves/variety to the combat would have been nice. Great fun to play though.

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:33pm

that was awesome and pretty violent for its minimalism. Does get a bit repetitive after a while tough.

dissonance says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:57am

Pretty fun game. My only gripe was the walking sound. Would love to see the character's kits expanded.Good job!

KevinZuhn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:39am

Great looking and playing. I enjoyed using the bullet powerup on a floor-full of enemies. I would have liked to get it or possibly other powerups more often, to change up the gameplay floor to floor.
Still, it totally captures the minimal core of beat-em-up games!

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:00am

Love the graphics, and a fun concept great job :)

MatrixBai says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:41am

Great job. Best game I ever played in this jam.

CNIAngel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:41am

Great work guys. I love the use of the 3 pixel animation.

Benjamin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:09am

Very nice beat them all, It was really neat to make the boss visible on each tower but only meet him in the end --> retro style :)

I had a small bug after killing the boss; He died in one hit ( maybe normal ) and after that the ending tune was keep repeating on a very short loop. I had to focus out so the music could continue.

It was also nice the way room and monsters was telling a story without having you to need to type it.

robotality says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:22am

Thanks everyone for the wonderful comments :) We are considering doing a post-combo version, which will be more challenging and will have a real boss fight and not only a one hit kill. ;)

Chman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:43am

Easy but epic :] I really love the way you managed to make a combo system with 2 keys and... 3 pixels :D
The footstep sound is annoying though, I had to mute because of it.

brookman32k says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:54am

WOW, I'm impressed! Best game so far. :D

PushmePullyu says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Good use of the theme and also a lot of fun.

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Awesome!

JustinMullin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Took me a couple minutes scanning the screen wondering where the gunfire was coming from to realize it was the footstep sound effect. ;)

Other than that, an excellent entry, lots of fun, and an awesome art style.

May 2, 2013 @ 3:33am

Great, if simple, little beat 'em up. The art was fantastic - varied color palette and I was impressed at what you were able to achieve with just three pixel characters.

lotusgame says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:27pm

This Pixels make me feel nostalgic.

vapgames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Everything is awesome! Love the gameplay and the graphics (great colors choice). Music was also great. And it even has some self-contained little story.

PPLo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Hahaha, a minimalist beat em up. Original!
The game is pretty funny, but a bit repetitive for me. Maybe a little bit of explanation about the combos could help? I only found fist-fist-feet that trow a low kick. Also, I didn't see the difference between the 3 playables characteres.
Nice work anyway!

domrein says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Fun game.Great job on the graphics, theme and gameplay.

deepnight says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:19pm

You managed to make expressive characters with 1x3 pixels o_O
Everything works nicely! The punches/kicks lack strong feedbacks to emphasize the power of the hero. An extra gameplay element, like throwing furnitures would have been a great addition!

Good job :)

terrivellmann says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:00am

Awesome!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Cool game! Love the simplicity gameplay and animation =)

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Incredible use of pixels! The depth you achieved at that resolution in that time frame is impressive!

_Rilem says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Awesome, amazing what a mood you've set with so few pixels. :)

shawn42 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Wow, just wow. Great game! Lots of fun. Button mashing for the win!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Veeeery nice game. Extremely nostalgic. I tried to use kicks, but puncks is much more efficient, at least in the early stages. Congratz!!

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Very well made. Cute graphics.

Misfit says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Awesome! Cool retro graphics, nice music and great gameplay.

moomoo112 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:31pm

I really liked the style of graphics, good job with this one

sharbelfs says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:38pm

The Jam Entry is good, have some problems in the character controller, but it's ok.

The Awesome Version fix the controllers, but when I'm reached the 2º floor, gives me a error and the game stopped.

GwtApplication: exception: (TypeError) : Cannot read property 'u' of undefined
GwtApplication: exception: you have to call SpriteBatch.end() first

SnoringFrog says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:14am

Loved this, especially the character graphics. Did feel a bit easy though.

robotality says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Thanks everyone for the love :) Your feedback is really appreciated! We've made a post-compo edition which improves on most points you guys have mentioned. Hope you enjoy it!

@sharbelfs: Unfortunately I can't reproduce your problem here. Everything seems to work fine :/ What browser, OS?

loxo says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:30pm

It's incredible what's possible with only 3 pixels. I never had thought that this is enough to represent a player in a fun to play beat 'em up!

geckojsc says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Wow, loved the whole design! Was really satisfying to play, though I didn't get the hang of the combo system, I won the whole thing just by mashing N/M. I kinda wish the guns had been more strategically placed (they felt quite useless in rooms where there were only 3 or 4 people).
I played the post-compo version too and I like the improvements you made. :D

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Awesome game! Gameplay gets a bit repetitive, but who cares, graphics, sound and level design are great.

lightsoda says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:18am

Crazy to have combos and stuff when it's all just a couple of pixels, pretty fun.

Luxorix says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:24am

Good job! 5+

finefin says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:36am

how to illustrate a person with 3 pixels? see Towers of Rage!
great graphics and audio! I dig this game! 5/5 overall

entrusC says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Pixel violence - I love it! Disturbingly addictive! And libGDX - really nice. Only thing I miss is an endless mode with random generated towers ;)

fermcg says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:53am

Really nice... paused the 10s video to play!!

goerp says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Very good how you are able to combine the minimal pixelgraphics while still making it look so good! Nice music as well and background and all those different buildings.
Pretty impressive.
The gameplay was not really for me. Not my kind of game.
But that doesn't mean that the game doesn't kick ass, just that I dont :)

tankete says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:25am

Wow! Great game. Fits the theme perfectly. Had a lot of fun with this one. There was one sound when walking that got a bit annoying, but otherwise, no complaints. Nicely done!

dector says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:39am

Very nice minimal pixel-art.

8BitPimp says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Astounding. Very very nice.

Beerman says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:49am

That was great. Amazing how much variety of characters you got out of just 3 pixels.

paulmcgg says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:45pm

This was fun! Absolutely love the art, super low-res stuff like Small Worlds always gets me and the blood here works really well with it, uncomfortably satisfying. Good job in getting a beat-em up and combos into a three pixel high character.

I look forward to the updated version, I think the game still needs something else to make it v. special (not being able to jump and flying kick makes me sad). Oh, and the kick button being a high kick, I assume, and thus looking identical to a punch is a bit confusing. One of my favourites of the jam.

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Footsteps were really loud and broke the really nice atmosphere. A bit repetetive, would have been nice to see how much progres you have made. Still an excellent entry and really like the minimal sprites.

Beldarak says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Really nice game. Loved the art style and the music

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]