April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

BlockBall

by Frankus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Engine: Unity 4
Graphics: Paint
Sound: sfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#94Fun3.64
#240Innovation3.54
#427Overall3.29
#525Theme3.57
#739Audio2.40
#799Mood2.64
#863Humor1.83
#865Graphics2.64
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

DaveDobson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23am

Fun game! I played several times. Never got to the cake - my mouse finger got tired. I like the gameplay - very frenetic. I thought for a while a winning strategy might just be clicking over and over in one column, but then you get areas where you need to click the weaker blocks to keep up, and that was some cool strategic depth. Nice work!

CTATZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:24am

Cool gameplay!

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23am

Nice and simple. I kinda wanna play it on my phone now :)

Frankus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:43am

Will have a build for iPhone and maybe android soon, contact me if interested.

shaircast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:01am

simple and cool! my finger hurts :)

gmaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:03am

Nice game!

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:24am

The gameplay is good and fluent.

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:23am

Simple, yet its nice.

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:17pm

This was fun, i would love to see it on a tablet/ smartphone
Ps. Paint FTW!!!

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:05am

Well that escalated quickly :)

Very nice job, I enjoyed that quite a bit. I especially liked how suspenseful it got right before you died. Keep up the good work!

CrazyGage says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:11am

Interesting idea, but doesn't work so good with a trackpad. lol

Blinked says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:43am

Very fun. A game like this on a mobile device would work really well :D

Frankus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:30pm

It had iPhone resolution for a reason ;)

May 3, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Really nice -- would work well on touch.

mollymus says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:21am

I liked it, but i think I would've liked it more if the controls were using the keyboard instead. Maybe left/right to target and downarrow to start breaking blocks?

JonathanG says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:35pm

A fun idea! It's simple and quickly replayable, which is good to keep me coming back to try again. It is quite a strain on the clicking-finger though!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]