April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dieter Rams Memory

by aquilicoco - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Simon style memory game. Inspired by the minimalist work that Dieter Rams made for Braun.

Fixed the sound volume.

Made with: Construct 2 + Aseprite + Audacity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#151Graphics3.77
#611Theme3.48
#756Humor1.96
#839Audio2.21
#913Mood2.52
#1097Overall2.62
#1148Fun2.25
#1324Innovation1.70

Comments

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:49am

Nice game, it's nothing new but it kept me playing for a while >.< .It'd be nice to have leaderboards to compare highscores.

P.D.: I love the art style.

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:18am

Thank you :)

Yes, is not very original. I don't have a lot of free time.

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:05am

I'm a sucker for memory games. Nice pixels. I'd only recommend that maybe it gradually speeds up as you play, and that there's no delay between button presses (that is, so you can hit them as fast as you want).

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:16am

Thank you namuol.

Yes, that was planed :)

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:27am

It has cool-looking pixel art but there isn't much else to it if you kno wut I mean.

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:31am

Magnus Thank you for playing.

Yes the gameplay is very simple (minimalist?) ;)

tompudding says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:54am

Looks excellent. I thought that big speaker would have a deeper sound!

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:15am

tompudding Thank you.

XD It's the sk4 record player http://bit.ly/12HMKRe

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:52am

The art is great, however I wish there was more feedback in the game play to let you know when it is your turn and when you should be paying attention.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:53am

Definitely 5 Stars for the Graphics!

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:57am

Thank you tinytouchtales

I love pixel art!

omaromeir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:22pm

While the idea is not original, the graphics are awesome! This type of game is fun every once in a while :).

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Thank you omaromeir

glbs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Nice visuals and mood, do you know the works of Pippin Barr? It made me think of it

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:33pm

glbs thank you. No i didn't know him, thank you for the reference.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Lovely pixelly machinery, but the game got tiresome. Was annoyed I didn't have a chance to play the turntable before I failed.

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Jonathan Whiting Thank you.

Good idea, i have to ass a free play mode :)

Tinco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Hi, it looks very nice but I didn't have much fun playing it unfortunately. I think the delay before pressing a button kills it.

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Thank you Tinco.
Yes, I have to fix this.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Nice art! I think the volume could be turned down a little, it is very loud, not recommended for people using headphones! Classic gameplay, the only complaint i have is the instruments aren't very responsive: if the player could click in the sequence faster it would be smoother. Overall nice work, congrats!

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Thank you Tiago.

Yes, i have to fix the touch control.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Sexy version of simon says!

There was an odd desync between the tones and the actual movement of the objects, and that threw me off. Otherwise, nice job!

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Thank you @josefnpat

anjack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:35pm

A new take on an old classic!

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Awesome art/design! In terms of gameplay, though, I wish that it moved a little faster.

Yarek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Nice job :)
It's a minimalist version of the Simon game and it looks great ^^ Nice pixel art

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:33pm

@anjack @rogueNoodle @Yarek Thank you.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Oh man, great graphics, but seeing all that DJ gear REALLY makes me want to hear sounds! =D

MartianWatts says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:20am

I loved the art! It feels slowly ( the delay on buttons is frustrating ) Good Job!

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:49am

@Filth and Money @MartianWatts Thank you.

Yes, i know the issue. I have to fix it.

juaxix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:37am

Thanks for this game, I need some inspiration for an adver game I'm doing right now, Simon dice is the base idea?

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:52am

@juanix You're welcome.
Please tweet the link to me if you use the idea in your own game.
Yes, is based in the simon game http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Simon_(game)

juaxix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:01am

Ah, I see your code is in spanish :)

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:11pm

@juaxix yes i am from Spain
I have to clean the code, and fix some bugs :)

reverso13 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Nice game it kept me playing for a while haha

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Sweet art! Kinda boring game. But sweet art!

GreyShock says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:50pm

I like the pixels, but my ears bleed with that high tunes! >_<

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Technically this is cool, but it´s basically "sam says". still nice graphics though.

zatyka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Nice job remixing an classic game. I enjoyed the art. I'm not really a fan of memory games, so I only went through 8 or 9 rounds. My only suggestion would be to let the player repeat the pattern as fast as they want.

Pixelulsar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:59pm

It goes with the theme well, but like some other people said it would be nice if you didn't have to wait until the sound stopped playing to click the next one so you could go faster.

Tsuki_Usagi says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:11am

graphics are nice but to have to wait so much each time I want to press the buttons is rather frustrating after a while D:

DustyStylus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:33am

Tricky little game, I love the pixel art. I try to imagine lines connecting them all in my head, but that plan starts to fail pretty quickly when they go back and forth. :)

aquilicoco says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:56am

Thank you all for play the game.
Future improvements:
* Better sounds. Sorry for the loud sounds.
* Gradually speed up as you play.
* Remove the delay between button presses.
* Pro mode: reorder the objects occasionally

JohnnySix says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:03am

Like the graphics and the bleeps, only minor complaint was minor difficulty telling sounds apart when played consecutively by the same object.

onzephyr says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:29am

Great visuals set to the classic simons says. really well done. Only possible critique would be allowing the player to repeat the sequence without waiting for the sound to end.

aquilicoco says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:27am

Thank you @JohnnySix and @onzephyr.
As you can see, remove the delay between button presses is on the list of future improvements :)

angelk says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:36am

I came here for the pixel art. I love the visual style. I had trouble getting past a handful of different sound patterns.

aquilicoco says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:15am

@angelk Thank you.
It's my first LD and my second mini-game. The next will be better :)

kyyninen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:34am

I dug the mundane setting. Keep buzzing those appliances!

May 3, 2013 @ 11:36am

Cool! But it felt a little slow at times, having to wait for the sound to finish...

AlbertoSM says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Nice pixelated graphics! Gameplay can get tedious overtime (since you have to wait unitl the sound finishes to click the next object).

saggiosoft says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Nice game.

donan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Good graphics and really fun :D

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:55am

Graphically interesting idea and a minimalistic fun to play game mechanic.

May 5, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Nice pixel style and audio, it was strangely mesmerising

May 8, 2013 @ 11:13am

This might work - a musical simon says with good looks but I think it's simply a tad too slow. Speeding it up a bit could make the game more engaging, especially if the length of the notes would also be variable. Good job on the aesthetics, one of the best true pixel art I've seen so far on this dare.

MinionStudios says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Fun and re playable! The simon-says aspect will never get old.

sparkleswirl says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:55am

Simple game, but a really refreshing take on the concept.

Dmitrix says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 2:40am

hmm... I couldn't really hear the sounds and there isn't really an interesting game mechanic. At least it looks cool! :)

bobiniki says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:26am

Nice interpretation of the theme. Althout soudn memory games exist I enjoyed yours witht he nice pixelart and sounds.

TurboDindon says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:33am

Nice pixel graphics.
It's a pity that the game is a bit slow to play (as already onzephyr says). It might be better with more reactivity. :)

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

mildmojo says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:44pm

The art was nicely done, wish the sound effects reflected the device they were coming from! I'm familiar with the gameplay, so I didn't play very long.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Nice theme interpretation.

lasergans says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 2:59pm

I really like the art stile. But I'm sorry to say, not the game. I would have loved to play around with the devices or something like that.

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Needs some twist or a hook to keep going.

hgouveia says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Cool game, a retro Simon says , i enjoyed it :D

May 28, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Thanks for offering a web version.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]