April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

You See What You See

by wattomatic - Jam Entry

WASD to move

Labour makes you free

Music by Jota Ese (http://dayoldrecords.bandcamp.com/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:43pm

I "played" through this non-game to the end just so I could keep listening to the excellent downtempo music. You should give up game design and become a triphop DJ.

wattomatic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:42am

Thanks for "playing."

ananasblau says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:46am

sorry, couldn't be bothered to play or rate this. If this is a non-game and it has something like an end you might want to explain it a lot more so people keep "playing" it to see whatever comes at the end.

wattomatic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:24pm

I feel like trying to explain it at all would be antithetical to the spirit of the theme, but I appreciate your input.

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Great song

May 1, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Why the hell does it include the "Arbeit macht frei"-sign?

Fritzendugan says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:36am

Cool music, like others have said, it was main thing that kept me going through the actual gameplay. If you made this music yourself, well done. Interesting message, I suppose. I wouldn't call it a "non-game," as the term "game" has many connotations and meanings. I would call this a game. Others who are kind of scorning it and refuse to play it bug me as elitist.

That's not to say I don't have criticisms. The graphic kind of got to me and gave me a headache. Even just the slightest increase in complexity in the game mechanic probably would've been enjoyable. Hell, even other labyrinths to explore. Of course, that said, you've kind of taken minimalism to an extreme, and while I might not have enjoyed the entry as much as I could have, I can offer a certain kind of respect for doing that.

Something that just hit me that would've been cool: have the music synced up with the movement of the dot. What I mean is, the music only continues playing while the dot is moving, when it stops, the music stops. This would give the player a feeling of "what they're working toward" in a way, and create heavier synergy with the music.

Anyway, thanks for taking the time to contribute to the awesomeness that is Ludum Dare.

celiacjoe says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 11:49am

beautifull and zen.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]