April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Theft of Colour

by Pockets - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The goal is to steal the colour from the environment (by staying in an area for several seconds) and avoiding the guards. There's a vague stealth element in that when standing on an area which has no colour left, you can't be seen.

When you have stolen all the colour from the level, return to the start to win. Except I didn't have time to make "win" and "lose" screens so they'll both show the title graphic again.


The background was supposed to be a knockoff of early Kandinsky (so that you replace it with a more minimalist look as you play) but instead looks like a child's drawing of a map of a house. Oh well.
I didn't use a library for the collision detection so that turned out to be a bit of a disaster. That and a really convoluted art pipeline means that I didn't get anywhere near as much done as I'd have liked. Still, first time I've been able to submit, so can't complain!

Spacebar - start game.
Up, down, left, right - move.
Esc - quit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1979Coolness10%

Comments

drkrunk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:21am

I like the concept. The collision of the walls are little weird. None the less I had fun playing it.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:12pm

On my Win XP laptop the game breaks up while I try to launch it. :(

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:07am

Windows 7 64bit, game crashes on startup.

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:04pm

I want to try it, but the shortcut in the default directory doesn't seem to work. When I head over to the bin file to manually run the .exe, it doesn't start up either.

Pockets says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Oh. :( Is there anything particularly enlightening in mogre.log in the bin directory?

Pockets says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:26pm

It does need .NET 4 runtimes (it was built with 4.0.3), but that's all I can think of in the way of possible causes.
If I get time over the next couple of days I'll add some extra logging and switch on the graphics option selection dialog.

yellowlemming says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:48am

it appears that there is no exe in the file, only a shortcut to an exe

Ryusui says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:00am

There's an exe in the RAR, but it's in the bin/Release folder. That said, it doesn't seem to work on Windows 7 64-bit.

goerp says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:11pm

same here, doesn't work on win 7 64 bit.

ahm99 says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:59am

Theft of color? Sounds about like my game :) Try my game out and you will see what I mean.

ahm99 says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:20am

Hmm, it doesn't seem to work. I looked at the log and it doesn't seem to have errors. I'll post my log to pastebin, maybe you can find something. I'D LIKE TO PLAY
mogre.txt: http://pastebin.com/R84jHRjj

paulopn says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:04am

I really want to play this, but it crashes when I open it... I'm on Win 7 64bit...

Dotanukii says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:04am

cool concept and the graphics are really neat, it could use some polishing regarding the collision, audio, and the interface, but, other than that, it's really cool!

Uhfgood says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 5:53am

interesting

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]