April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sequence to Minimalism

by ShawnFeatherly - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I came up with this while reading the wikipedia meaning of minimalism. It's something closer to interactive art than a game. To play, just follow the in-game instructions.

Here's an explanation of how the number sequence is formed:
The 3 numbers you enter are the first 3 numbers of the number sequence, from top to bottom.
The game uses those first 3 numbers of the sequence to generate the rest of a number sequence; i.e. 1,2,3 becomes 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8.

What that number sequence is for:
That sequence is used to remove cubes. The first number removes red cubes, the second green, the third blue, the fourth goes back to red, etc. This goes on until there aren't enough cubes left for the next number in the sequence.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#811Innovation2.79
#1022Theme3.00
#1116Graphics2.28
#1185Mood2.05
#1236Coolness49%
#1290Overall2.21
#1317Fun1.69

Comments

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:40pm

It's hard to understand what just happened 0.o

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Yeah, the UI to make what's happening clear needs work. Here's an explanation; the dialog with 3 text boxes shows the first 3 numbers of a number sequence, from top to bottom. The game uses those 3 numbers to generate the rest of a number sequence; i.e. 1,2,3 becomes 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8. That sequence is used to remove cubes. The first number removes red cubes, the second green, the third blue, the fourth goes back to red, etc. This goes on until there aren't enough cubes left for the next number in the sequence.

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Well, I never achieved minimalism I guess, but it's a fun little toy to see what will happen.

Took me a good while and reading your explanation a few times to figure out what was going on.

Andy West says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:31am

Interesting, but difficult to understand.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:40am

Ah, I get it now. An interesting concept here! Nice work on implementing the sequence finding algorithm too.

But I have a problem with not being able to see the text entry boxes. I only can see the last one. I was able to tab through them and change the numbers, but most of that window is hidden in the top left corner of the screen. :(

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Could operate it okay, but not work out how to "aim" to get better (at removing the cubes)

May 2, 2013 @ 4:14am

I'm not sure how to play but interesting concept. Is there a way you can show the equation we are working with?

May 2, 2013 @ 5:03am

If you mean how I create the number sequences, the equation is explained on this site: http://mathforum.org/library/drmath/view/51538.html

My implementation of it is on lines 115-117 of this file: https://github.com/Feddas/LudumDare26/blob/master/Assets/Scripts/CreateCubes.cs

omaha says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Love the concept. Wish I had a better idea what effect my choices were having and how well i was doing.

kurrik says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:10pm

This is an impressive idea (I guess it's like picking a lock), but I agree with some of the other reviewers that I'd like to have more feedback about how I'm doing.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:59am

uh -- what did i do to make all those cubes keep appearing?

juaxix says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:33am

Dont understand this "game", but i like how cubes are created and the physics

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]