April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

the pretentious apple

by Bluebutton - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The pretentious apple is a 3d puzzle game based around tactile rotating mechanics. The player guides the apple through a series a puzzles by manipulating and rotating the environment.

The game fits the theme as I wanted to keep the mechanics as pure as possible, no fluff, you touch and drag everything in your path and that's all you do. I also centralized the game on a single theme...the apple (albeit a pretentious one).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#51Audio3.77
#80Graphics4.02
#113Mood3.59
#162Overall3.65
#284Humor2.68
#408Fun3.15
#467Innovation3.23
#956Theme3.09
#1284Coolness48%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:03am

Ha, this idea is great! I haven't seen a ball-game with this control-scheme before.

Artstyle works quite well. I think the start black background might even work in its favour, contrasting with the high-detail objects.

Also nice work on the "story"-integration, to increase the artsy-fartsy-factor

wallmasterr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:44am

Looks awesome, controles are a bi fidly, got stuck on level 2 for ages. the gameplay is quite inavitive.

Komradus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:24am

Some of the levels were fairly tricky at times but overall fantastic work! On occasion though it's a little difficult to judge distance and angle due to the camera position.

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:23pm

beautiful, interesting and funny

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:26pm

This game have great control, great concept and awesome art !

iamorim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Beautiful graphics and music. The controls are a little strange but I played perfectly. Good game! :)

Ditto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Interesting mechanic, took a little while getting used to, but worked really well! The music set the pretentious mood really well! :D

BumpkinRich says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Could have so easily been a ball.. and would have lost all of its charm. The ingredients wouldn't work on paper but you have made them come alive (as they might say on Masterchef). That music shouldn't fit a ball roller... but it does.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Good game! :D

d_durham says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Really well presented take on a simple idea. I did find it a bit tricky to control initially, but still enjoyable.

mebibyte says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Great music! Levels were a bit challenging, but the controls were easy and fun. Nice work!

Diamonde says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Very nice concept and incredibly well executed!
I like the simple art, and love the music. Even more, I love the gameplay which is rock solid in the controls and the increasing difficulty.
So rewarding to solve that last level! Thanks for sharing this game :)

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Great gameplay.

phnxphire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Very nice. Love the music and the interface.

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Not sure how to vote because it looks like the game was made by more than one person (at least it's written in the credits), anyway I like it a lot :)

bytegrove says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Pretty game, with clean visuals and nice music, but I think this should have been entered in the jam instead seeing as it was made by more than one person?

Alexander says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:12am

Absolutely love the music!

thenmal says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:21am

Loved the gameplay, but was very disappointed that the music wasn't original. (lists a music store in the credits)

kidevil says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:42am

Great graphics and concept, but had a hard time grabbing the platforms when I wanted to.

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:13am

Very nice... Screw the apple lol... Good job doing tutorial levels, a valuable feature. Fantastic music/atmosphere - truly pretentious... (in UK at least... it's not just an apple, its a Marks and Spencers' apple...)

jacklehamster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:18am

Very high mark for the music, even though I'm not sure an epic music like that really fits the game.

gregdevice says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:43am

Very original mechanic and like the theme!

Uhfgood says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:54am

Reminiscent of Marble Madness, however it was a pain in the butt to control that apple.

Ismei says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:05am

I loved the music, and the black background worked really well. I found it difficult to judge angles sometimes, but apparently that's something I'm bad at in general, so it might just be me.

IceCliff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:13pm

This was great. Though I must say level 2 was ridiculously hard. Great to see so many good Unity games :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:58pm

So fun! Gets hard to judge the angle with a fixed camera, but it works out just fine in the end. Awesome game!

May 1, 2013 @ 7:04pm

A very nice game with a very nice soundtrack!
It could do with a bit more polish since I encountered quite a few annoying bugs.

theomnis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Screw that apple! Fun game, but a little hard to get the hang of.

jackspinoza says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:28pm

nice work, looks very polished. I found it quite difficult sadly but I'm rubbish at this sort of thing. Albeit, good work.

SmilingCat says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:49am

Very beautifully done! Both the graphics and the music are gorgeous. Love how you rotate a single piece of the puzzle at a time.

Excellent work!

GameNacho says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Cool idea, I always like "tilt" kind of games :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]