April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Venture Ville! (Multi-player)

by BrainSlugs83 - Jam Entry

Title: "Venture Ville"
For: Ludum Dare 26 - Jam (April 2013).
By: Michael Jensen (BrainSlugs83@gmail.com) and Bonita Scougale.

Edit: In case it's not clear, or you're not familiar with SignalR: This "game" is multi-player. Try opening the site in two different browsers side-by-side (in the top left you'll see X and Y coords, try walking to the where you see the other person is at).

TLDR #1: Just play it in your browser: http://brainslugs83.azurewebsites.net/

TLDR #2: As far as features go, and how done it is, it's kind of "Minimal". (Read: not even close to finished.)
(See what I did there? XD)

I didn't really finish enough of it to make it a completed game in time for the deadline, so that sucks balls, but whatever; I set out to learn MVC4, Razor, and SignalR (all three were completely new to me), and I was rusty as all hell with HTML5's Canvas scripting. But in the end I got something that somewhat works, and I think might be a good proof of concept for what you can do with the SignalR stack.

Rather than trying to figure out how to build this (unless you want to), go check it out running live, by pointing your browser at:

http://brainslugs83.azurewebsites.net/

Also be sure to look at the screen shots and what-such. ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#475Graphics(Jam)2.43
#477Theme(Jam)2.55
#513Mood(Jam)1.69
#536Innovation(Jam)1.83
#561Fun(Jam)1.23
#562Overall(Jam)1.65
#1503Coolness41%

Comments

Yezu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Is there anything you can do there besides walking around?

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:36am

You can watch your friend's walk around? (It's multi-"player"!)

Again, super unfinished. I picked the wrong time to learn a new technology stack. Though, now that I'm past the growing pains I'm super excited about it going forward. :D

Also you can attempt to translate the text on the logo for humor value. ;-)

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:36am

friends*

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:40am

It is a Jam entry, so I guess I can say "Go Team Venture!"

But really, I'm not sure what I'm supposed to be doing or able to do here...

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:47am

@swizzcheez haha, Yeah.

Anyway, the game was originally supposed to be a cross between Legend of Zelda and Farmville -- I probably would have done better if I'd started on Friday, or known about "Warm-up Weekend" -- but hey, I'm de-virginized now, so, maybe next time. :D

Also, still trying to figure out this "#TeamPotato" business, very interesting community you guys have here. XD

madlee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:26am

Good effort. Obviously not finished, but it *does* fit the theme!

BrainSlugs83 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:30am

Thanks @madlee! I'm new here and all, but I'd be surprised if this *wasn't* the first MMO anyone's attempted to write for Ludum Dare -- let alone one that mets the Minimalism theme! XD

I finally got around to attaching the source code by the way, if anyone wants to screw around with it, have at. :D

hamrath says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Gameplay as minimized as possible.

intripoon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:14am

Sadly not so much game. Technically interesting though.

Per says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Looks kind of cool :)
Maybe do a post-jam version?

cakemonitor says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:28am

good work getting this far, I hope you can turn it into a finished project :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]