April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Minimalist Fisherman

by Hiku - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're a minimalist runner, and you become a minimalist fisherman.


How to play:
The goal is to kill fish to earn bonuses and then finish the game by exchanging with the American Indian.
Move the character with the WASD keys.
Collect the bubbles to breathe.
Your life bar is on the top, and breathe a bubble regenerates.
You can attack with the space key.
If you attack a fish with speed (down), you make more damages.

Sorry for my poor English (google translate ._.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#120Humor3.27
#434Fun3.12
#468Audio2.84
#486Mood2.98
#623Graphics2.94
#674Overall3.06
#855Innovation2.73
#1231Theme2.63

Comments

rockford says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:30am

Not playable on an european keyboard :(((. It's so easy to use arrow keys yet... Nice introduction and smooth.

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:37am

Haha I think the scale of game's economy makes me feel very poor. It took about 7 minutes just to get 1 fish. I think the collision volumes are a bit too small as well, I was right on top of fish hitting spacebar and kept dying trying to kill a single one per run. Nice music + theme though, I had fun playing it, very chill. Excellent work!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:04am

This fishing is ridiculous. Nice work.

Komradus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:25am

You overshoot your intended target at times and it like there are only decent amount of bubbles at the very start, thus running out of air really quickly.

Awennor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:38am

Great sound, great graphics when you're underwater, but horrible when you're not. Great mechanics with the movement and bubble water but horrible fish battling mechanics (hard to avoid getting beat up while trying to kill the fish) that downgraded the experience.

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:40am

I really liked the arcade gameplay :D

LeafThief says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:54pm

There are huge differences in terms of quality when comparing screens. Nonetheles simple but fun fishing. Well balanced too!
The light rays made for a great atmosphere and the music fit very well. I liked it.

Jilt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Haha, good job, this is very fun

Hiku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Thank you everyone! :3

For the keyboard, I should have put the arrow keys, indeed. For the moment to make QWERTY Shift + Alt :)
And sorry especially for the beach which is filthy, I'm really bad at drawing.

Geoege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Your game so funny ! I just Lmao by playing it.
Graph are a bit cheap, but the great number of fun fish make it really cool.
19 days !
Bien jouééééééé mini-lucie.

Hiku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Thanks x)

Toki Anholmes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Nice work le frère de Lucie

johnfn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Pretty fun! You fish by swimming down to the bottom of the ocean and beating up fishes, which is pretty awesome. My one problem was that I felt like it took a little too long to get upgrades. And sometimes it seemed like there weren't any air bubbles after the initial few. But still it was fun!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Really nice art style. Love the lighting and the sea plants floating past. And the fishing is pretty good too. But 10,000 for a raft?? I'm going to be stuck fishing for a looong time ;).

Meep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:31pm

The control felt a bit too slippery for the game mechanics, but I liked the overall game play. :)

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:01pm

"Don't tell me more because I'm minimalist!" lol

Overall the game is really good and your graphics are amazing. The rays of light + trees are superb. The start is a bit too slow, but other than that it's okay! Good job.

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Narrative was a nice touch, graphics are ok, and it felt pretty satisfying to pummel several fish at once.

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Fun game, a bit out of balance imo =O)

villhest says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:13am

I like it! I played through in 19 days... The first days were the most difficult.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:21am

Nice :D

Ofursnati says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Well done. I want more lungs. Some of these fish take forever to kill. Music is nice.

jolle says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Controls were a bit sluggish.

Contrary to what rockford said, it is playable on "European keyboards", just not some countries'. Is fine on most.

ilovepixel says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:12am

Nice game but the shop was a bit expensive, I would have to be playing for an hour just to get the cheapest item.

Ryusui says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:30am

Desperately needs some polish on the non-underwater segments (not to mention some proofreading/editing). Still, punching/chopping/spearing the daylights out of fish underwater has a strangely addictive appeal.

May 5, 2013 @ 10:15am

In Chrome, the game loses focus between diving sessions, so I have to click every time I start diving again. The fading out takes frustratingly long, and at first I wanted to surface before running out of air - I expected that running out of air meant dying. Also, the attacking was buggy at times, I kept mashing the spacebar but nothing happened. As others pointed out, the items could be a little cheaper, it takes forever to earn them!

Apart from that, this entry is the most humorous one I've seen so far, the underwater atmosphere is nice, and the light rays make for a great atmosphere.

lotusgame says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:40am

Too strange you have to click on the stage to get the keyboard control back. Very good game ! I played for 15mn at least due to the progression system well balanced ! It is addictive. With better graphics, it should be excellent ;)

May 20, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Very good game! Nice minimalist intro, hehehehe!
The part of this game i liked the most was when i tried to attack a shark: my player turned into a blood pulp!

One irritating thing though: The fade to go to the store is too long!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]