April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Blind

by miotatsu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Blind is a game of exploration that embraces the theme of minimalism through
avoiding the use of visuals and music. The player embarks on a quest for treasure
in a treacherous maze of turns and traps with nothing but sound to guide them.
Use the Enter key to begin the game or go back to the title after losing (or winning!)
Use the arrows to move your player (you can also use hjkl.)
If you are confused with what is happening, try turning your sound up!

For instructions on building the game, see the BUILD file.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#89Theme4.12
#205Innovation3.60
#300Mood3.20
#350Audio3.04
#610Overall3.12
#980Fun2.50
#1284Coolness48%
#1316Graphics1.71

Comments

Spiridios says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:55pm

First, for the windows build you might want to mention that you need the x86 build of the VC2012 redistributable: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679

I needed to rate this game since you and I had similar takes on the theme.

Talk about Nintendo hard! I like that you had different sound effects to tell you where you were in relation to the things around you. A key or description would have been helpful, or even just hinting that the different sounds have meaning. I needed to open up the map to reverse engineer what the sounds meant. Even with the map open it was a bit of a challenge to find the end.

Overall great concept. You might consider polishing it up a bit and submitting it here: http://forum.audiogames.net/viewtopic.php?id=7201

boboKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:11am

super hard but interesting. I found it difficult to tell if the main sound was hitting the walls or moving.

HelkeGames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Nice game well done! :)

Ryusui says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:24am

Like the concept; I just wish I could figure out what the different sounds actually are. XD Also, I couldn't quite figure out whether movement is "absolute" (i.e. up, down, left, right) or "relative" (i.e. forward, backwards, turn left, turn right).

Blinked says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Interesting game, it's pretty hard and takes

Blinked says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:47pm

... takes a while to figure out. But cool concept overall.

Accidentally submitted the comment early lol xD

berkano says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Awesome idea; claustrophic and obviously minimal when it comes to graphics... Haven't managed to solve it yet but have a partial map on paper :-) nice job!

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Couldn't find the BUILD file. Sadly "blind.exe is not a valid Win32 application". Would love to "see" this game. ^^

miotatsu says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:41pm

@GranaDa I didn't test the windows build, but as Spiridios mentioned, you might need this:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679

Jim Haslett says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:14am

It didn't do anything except display BLIND start screen.

miotatsu says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:58am

@Jim did you try pressing Enter and turning up your sound? :p

bowlercaptain says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:00am

Interesting. I like the concept. Difficulty curve was steep - a little too steep for me. Aside from that, the only thing I had trouble with was figuring out how to rate this game for 'graphics.'

Jerm says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:51am

Interesting game once I figured out what was going on. Would be cool if it had a story.

galman says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:23am

Great idea! I tried to solve it with pen and paper but I gave up...

JonathanG says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:01am

Great idea for a minimal game, fitting the theme brilliantly. Enjoyed sitting there with my eyes shut and fumbling my way around the maze. Good work.

Symmeteer says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:56am

I loved it! I just sat back in my chair, closed my eyes and wandered around. I've never been able to do that in a game before!
An expanded game with a larger variety of sounds and such would be cool!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]