About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 7 days, 20 hours, 54 minutes, 36 seconds
  • October Ends: in 8 days, 21 hours, 6 minutes, 36 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 43 days, 21 hours, 54 minutes, 36 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Be The Wind - dstozek - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    In this game, you become the wind. Fly between branches, collect seeds and plant new trees. Create a wonderful, minimalistic tree garden and share it with your friends.

    Made in HTML5/JS using Canvas and JQuery.
    Works best in Google Chrome.

    View dstozek's journal. | View all entries by dstozek

    Ratings

    Coolness60%
    #10Mood4.25
    #25Audio3.99
    #37Graphics4.21
    #63Innovation3.95
    #66Overall3.87
    #115Theme4.07
    #538Fun3.00
    #973Humor1.66

    Comments

    3.14 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:32am

    Good artsy stuff, great relax after two days and nights of jamming.

    gabehollombe says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:10am

    Love the music. Beautiful execution that conveys serenity. Well-done.

    sparkleswirl says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53am

    Great game! Nice, relaxing, also fun. Have an upvote!

    raincole says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:58am

    It looks like art and feels like art. It's definitely art.

    bummzack says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:57am

    Beautiful. I love how the trees grow outside of the "bounds".

    Ian MacLarty says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:06am

    Really beautiful. I love the way the trees grow outside the game frame.

    oatsbarley says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:19am

    I love so much about this! The leaves floating about when you move are great, and the trees (and the way the break out of the frame) are lovely. I'm definitely going to be going over the source for this and seeing how you did everything.

    mtrc says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:13pm

    Really loved this. Very relaxing and pretty.

    Jase says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:17pm

    Very nice :)

    quill18 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:30pm

    Absolutely stunning. Nothing more to say.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:18pm

    Amazing.

    Diamonde says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:33pm

    Simply amazing.

    Jellycakes says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:03pm

    Really nice looking game with a well thought concept. Had good fun playing this, great job!

    robcozzens says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:11am

    That was beautiful!

    I only wish that the trees were affected by the wind.

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:12am

    Cool concept, fits the theme well and nice music. Reminded me a bit of Flower by thatgamecompany. It would be nice if there was more of a progression to the gameplay or some kind of goal. Also when you are moving in a direction against the edge of the screen it should adjust the camera so you can see farther ahead.

    Colapsydo says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:25am

    I really like the evolution of the SFX regarding the wind velocity.
    I get lost sometime on this too much white background for me.

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:02pm

    The game feels very polished and professional for an LD! :)

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:59pm

    Unprecedented design and quality. Very unique and innovative. Nice to relax with this entry after several dozen retro shooters that make beepy noises. Thumbs up!

    fishbrain says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 7:07am

    Hypnotic and beautiful. Well done!

    ataxkt says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:02am

    Really great! Love the mood, although I'm not keen on the music.

    atraxgames says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:04am

    Wow. This feel like an interactive poem

    LionelJitro says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:05am

    Really nice and peaceful. I love the movement of "the wind". Seeing the trees grow is pretty cool as well.

    DustyStylus says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 10:12am

    For me, this is what Ludum Dare is often about. Great ideas implemented in a really beautiful way. Great stuff!

    Jod says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 12:10pm

    Very relaxing, love to see the trees grow. Very pretty indeed!

    Fangh says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:07pm

    Good job !

    SonnyBone says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:36pm

    Wow. Didn't expect to get 6 real types of trees that all grow so differently and beautifully. Great work! Really great work.

    8BitPimp says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:57pm

    Damn it, this didnt seem to run in my browser :(
    It also said webaudio wasnt supported too.
    But I just got a white screen. The screen shots look great though.

    saguaro says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:23pm

    Zen, poetry. You are a poet. <3

    Clavus says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 7:05pm

    Great little game. Very relaxing. Too bad there's some slowdown after you planted all the trees.

    N427 says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:57pm

    Really cool! Very relaxing with a nice overall feel, well done.

    lathomas64 says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 12:10am

    This was fantastic. I only wish there was a little less confusion near the end when I couldn't find any more seeds and it apparently was just waiting for my last tree to grow some.

    Alucard J says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 11:01pm

    This is a beautiful game, anyone can play this and have their own experience, thoughts and fulfillment. Well Done =]

    TravisChen says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 4:14am

    Holy amazing. Well done.

    dragonee says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 9:23pm

    I love the feeling from the game! :)

    geckojsc says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 3:33pm

    Very pretty! Lovely mellow music. The seeds seemed to appear quite infrequently and randomly, maybe some mechanic that allowed the player to unlock new seeds through creativity or skill would have been interesting.
    Excellent work!

    Ithildin says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 1:42pm

    Beautiful :)

    alwaysinbeta says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 4:39pm

    Lovely concept and great fit with the theme. Very relaxing to play.

    Ryusui says ...
    May 16, 2013 @ 6:09am

    Clever little toy. Am I the only one who can't help but think the Japanese cherry looks oddly stunted, though?

    May 18, 2013 @ 5:55pm

    Made a good choice in trying this one! Great atmosphere (visual & sound), clean game, I think I have no negative critics ^^ ...ah no I remember: to be able to have some more tree in one garden would be perfect!

    StMatn says ...
    May 18, 2013 @ 6:44pm

    Epic game! It was a really cool experience to play it. The audio is really great and sets the mood very well. The gameplay was really relaxing. Only thing I can criticize, that the soundeffect for the wind should fade out, when bumping into the levelborder, instead of abruptly stopping. Awesome job!

    Gungnir says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 4:55pm

    Lovely execution. An aid to meditation.

    Xanjos says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 5:04pm

    Absolutely loved the wind sfx and overall, this is a nice game with a really relaxing mood.

    Spiridios says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 5:47pm

    The hunt for seeds got a bit monotonous, but the game's atmosphere was great. I'm not sure what actually ended the game. The share feature is a nice touch.

    Rafael Sales says ...
    May 20, 2013 @ 11:16pm

    Great game. It is very Flow style and extremely well done. Congrats!!

    SnoringFrog says ...
    May 21, 2013 @ 12:13am

    Beautiful. Only was able to find about 5 different trees (not sure how many there are), but it was a beautiful game.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]