April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

War in a Bottle

by JumbocactuarX27 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I built my game with Construct 2 Personal Edition, Audacity and a whole bunch of GIMP. It's based off a popular drawing topic for me and my chums back when we were in daycare: stick figures inside bottles doing things. For me, it's a minimalist art style without being a whole mess of rectangles hopping all over the place.

I was going to make two more levels than are present in the game, but time requirements are forcing me to cut them. I was also going to add in music, as evidenced by the toggle on the title screen, but I was trying to beatbox the music and it REALLY wasn't turning out well, so I've saved you the trouble of muting my game. There were also going to be more weapons and enemies, but I decided that wouldn't be very minimalistic of me.

I had Construct export in HTML5 + Javascript, and my javascript is not minified, so I hope that's close enough for source. Otherwise, you can find my .capx file at the Source link provided.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1864Coolness20%

Comments

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:51am

Love the sounds!

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Absolutley love this game! One of my favorites so far

rwos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:07am

Wow! From the screenshots I thought that this would be overly simple, but it's actually really well-made and cool and a lot of fun! The character animations are great, as is the level design. And I also like the sound effects, they fit very well to the rest of the game. Great job! This was a lot of fun to play!

tnovelli says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:44am

Nicely balanced too... difficult but not insanely so.

DaveDobson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Very nice - fun platform game that works well. I liked how you could crawl up the edges of things. Cool idea, well executed.

Beldarak says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:37pm

The controls are a little tedious (certain jumps are really frustrating) but it's a nice game. I loved the sounds :D

SuperDisk says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:16am

Controls were quite wacky, but fun game. Stumbling over the enemy legs was a bit annoying, however.

runonthespot says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:16pm

hilarious. Love the idea too.

free_napalm says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Why did you decide to leave corpses as glitchy obstacles? I still had a lot of fun playing through the game.

Super Hamster says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Great game and really fit the theme well.

Cosmologicon says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Wow, really fun! I like the creative idea. Even the mechanics is pretty well done, I felt pretty skilled pulling off a few of those midair shots in the last level.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]