April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Radius minigolf

by NicoSaraintaris - Jam Entry

Radius minigolf is a minimalistic take on minigolf!
(game created by Damian Troncoso & Nico Saraintaris)

How to play?
1. Drag a line (radius) near the ball.
2. Release to make the radius rotate anticlockwise and hit the ball.
3. The longer the rotation, the harder the hit.
4. Try to win as many holes as you can before the time is up!)

--

Why minigolf?
We love alliteration (you know, the occurrence of the same letter or sound at the beginning of adjacent or closely connected words)... so why not to try to take a minimalistic shot at minigolf?

Minigolf and minimalism
So, we think about minigolf and minimalism. A ball, a hole, some obstacles and a swing. And how to perform a minimalistic swing?

Minimalistic swing
We thought about the radius of a circle and we make it rotate anticlockwise in order to hit the ball. The more it rotates, the harder the hit! So, draw a radius and hit the ball!

Play Radius minigolf!
Draw a radius. Hit the ball. And let us know what you think about the game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#91Innovation(Jam)3.54
#137Theme(Jam)3.66
#199Fun(Jam)3.08
#251Audio(Jam)2.98
#285Overall(Jam)3.10
#389Humor(Jam)1.65
#390Mood(Jam)2.57
#426Graphics(Jam)2.63

Comments

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:08am

Cool game. I enjoyed it. Would have liked the ability to swing the line either clockwise or counter clockwise. but that is just me being bad at mini golf.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:46am

nice take on minigolf, but i think the shooting mechanic could need some more work.

peggiosoft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:41am

Ok, I spent the first minute thinking that the ball was the black one. Then I realized it was the hole. Cool.
I actually liked it.
Mostly becaues it's not real golf and you easily end up drawing lines even if the ball s still moving.
Good job.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:45am

Pretty cool little minigolf game. Took a minute to figure out the shooting mechanic but after that I had fun.

geepit says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Cool mechanic, really nice

jayemjee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:10am

Very unique take on a golf game! Never played one that worked quite like this, and I think this setup actually makes more sense than most minigolf games. Unfortunately, I did run into some bugs: sometimes, I would drag the mouse, and the paddle wouldn't appear. Then, when I let go, the ball would go flying in some odd direction.

Otherwise, I liked it!

cadin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:14am

Cool game. The control scheme took some getting used to, but I think that's what makes interesting. Nice work!

zatyka says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:47am

Pretty neat. I found it very difficult to accurately aim my hit. A nice use of the theme.

Teejay5 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:49am

very addicting game!

Potentialing says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:53am

Fun game to play, it took me a while to get the controls down (except I didn't really, it was still pretty difficult to control). On my first playthrough, I got 3 holes. The concept is very cool, and was very fun to play, but the game was difficult because of the concept, so it was more or less a double-edged sword...

Meep says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:24am

Very interesting mechanic. :) Felt a little unintuitive, but it could probably be tweaked. Great work!

Nolojen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:25am

nice, clever and deceptively difficult

ilovepixel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:25am

A bit hard to aim on this game, but after you get used to it it's all a bit more easy. Great Game!

May 1, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Neat. I kept wanting to think that the length of the line I drew would affect the hit somehow, but it's effectively meaningless... that was a little odd for me. And since that part of the line drawing doesn't make a difference, it's effectively just a pull-back-to-shoot style game where the further you pull back, the harder you hit.

Ithildin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Very original and fitting take on minigolf, I like it.

I had some trouble at first figuring out how to move despite the instructions, though. In the tutorial stage I also mistook the hole for the ball (since it's larger and placed much closer to the text, I imagine it's easier to see it as the interactive object rather than the ball).
Then for some reason I assumed that "near" involved starting to draw the radius from the ball itself -_-U

After a few minutes of trial and error I finally deducted the right way, and it instantly became funnier. Nice job!

Codexus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Really harder than you would expect to aim like that. Neat idea.

3.14 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Nice take on abstract golfing. It quickly became totally unpredictable, but I liked the idea.

May 1, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Very neat! It took me a little while on the instructions screen to figure out what to do. I kept drawing a line around the ball and letting go, but it wouldn't hit the ball! Turns out I was trying to hit the hole :( silly me...

Any ways, real fun and worth the play!

May 1, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Thank you all for the awesome feedback! We are adding all your comments to our workflow... Cheers!

ilo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:15pm

It's actually a nice control system (though I didn't figure it out immediately) and I enjoyed playing. I got to level 8 after a few tries. I wish I could keep going for longer, maybe with a more lenient time limit, or a way of adding time on the clock if you do a level below the par time.

patrickward says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:59am

I have to admit I did the same as @SomeNetworkGuy and tried to hit the hole at first. I would make it a little more apparent that it's a hole. Once I figured it out, the fun began. Control system worked great. I liked the little hints, especially when you were pointing in the wrong direction. Well done!

May 2, 2013 @ 1:01am

This has a nice progression from "hmm?" to "oh neat" to "hrrmm" to "ah-ha!".

DustyStylus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Easy to learn, hard to master! Nice sound as well.

netpro2k says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:55pm

cool mechanic. Would be nice if you were able to hit both clockwise and anticlockwise. Also the starting position of the ball in many holes was a bit too close to walls

rujo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:16am

wow, this is sure original! a little difficult to get practiced but i like this!

fermcg says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:15am

Very cool game man!

Geoege says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:34am

Really love that radius idea, it's pretty interesting.
But, that time based scoring mechanics is in my opinion some kind of wrong, in fact radius mechanics is pretty hard to master and that one minute timer doesn't bring the player to practice it and bring him to (in my case) random shoot and hope that it will fall in the hole.
Furthermore we miss a part of the game when we're bad.
Maybe a hit counter for each hole could have been a good idea.

May 7, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Thanks for all the feedback, people! Geoege, yeah, you are right. Time mode was not the best idea for our control scheme but it sure was the fastest to implement. As we stated in our post mortem, we are porting it to iOs & Android (replacing the dragging with a swipe gesture) and working on different game modes: free mode, 18 holes, 9 holes, par mode, time mode and more! We are also excited about a level editor for the players all around to design their own levels and share them with the community! Again, thank you all for your feedback! Cheers!

joe40001 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:28am

Takes a bit to get used to, also I found you can hit the ball over some of the walls. Interesting idea though.

brantkings says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Nice! Liked it.

I only have two problems: locking it to just hit the ball clockwise and the interface wasn't that clear.

Nice music and sound FX!

timtipgames says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 7:52am

Fun and challenging :) Brought here by the indie intermission :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]