April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Abduction - finally...

by MartianWatts - Jam Entry

First time on ludum dare, and finally we finished!
It was amazing, now: time to play!!....
ok first: time to sleep!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#41Humor(Jam)3.51
#151Fun(Jam)3.23
#206Audio(Jam)3.10
#243Mood(Jam)3.06
#255Graphics(Jam)3.28
#266Overall(Jam)3.15
#342Innovation(Jam)2.75
#498Theme(Jam)2.47

Comments

PixelOaks says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:53am

That was pretty fun. Loved the graphics and sounds.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:57am

I really enjoyed the music and feel of this game. It satisfies the part of me that likes stepping on ants.

Cory Martin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:00am

I think the best strategy is to hover on the ground stationary holding space and abducting people when you need more energy.

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:17am

Simple. Fun. The UFO is a potato!

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:47am

Well I could just hold space and suck up all the people and never run out of laser. But I wont say I didn't have fun destroying things!

dremelofdeath says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:54am

Good graphics and audio. The laser uses up a TON of health, and it was frustrating to try to figure out why I was losing so quickly. Still, good first LD!

Jed Mayberry says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:02am

You should have given instruction in the start about the fact that the laser takes away health. Looks pretty good!

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:12am

Nice. Destroying stuff and chasing helpless inhabitants is always good fun.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:16am

The game really could have used some instruction on the fact that shooting took health, I was at a loss as to why I was losing for about 5 minutes, I almost stopped playing before I found out. I don't see how the game fit the theme very well, but there was something oddly satisfying about sucking people up while hearing them scream.

Markusn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:22am

ha, this was nice. fun to play and has that "let me try this one more time" element.

siondream says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:29am

I loved the style, quite fun. I felt powerful abducting those poor beings haha. The sound was driving me insane though :-D. I also noticed some tearing in the background textures.

Andy West says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:35am

Hilarious.

Spierek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:05am

That's a nice idea for a gameplay, but after getting to >1200 abductees all of the spawned houses had no people inside.

Yarek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:44am

It's pretty fun and I like the graphics and the sounds too :)

I got 1505 points ^^

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:59am

Hey thanks for checking out my game! Haha this one made me laugh, very cute graphics :) The abduction concept is great.

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:13am

I love it!

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Fun stuff, but yeah - it took a few times before I realized the laser uses up health :P

BahamutZaero says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Took me a moment to understand why I kept dying so fast, but once I did it was fun! Nice mechanic, and fun!

Tozy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:49pm

When I reached 1402 all the houses where empty... I guess I abducted all the population in that planet xD

pansapiens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:44am

Nice art (particularly like the zany background) & love the spooky bgm loop. The auto-targeting laser is also very cool.

It took me a while to figure out that I was harvesting energy and if I didn't I'd die, but once I got past that it made sense - but that's a small hint that maybe you need just a little more help docs here or within the game. Not much, just "Abduct turdlets to keep your energy levels high. Lasers use energy" would be enough. (Minor typo: "loose" should be "lose". I do that all the time too). Great little game overall, and I look forward to a post-compo version in the future.

MartianWatts says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:18am

Thanks to everybody, we re upload the web version with the typo fixes (thanks pansapiens) and some crashes.

hgouveia says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Very funny game!, love the art too

bluescrn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Not bad, quite a nice style to it. Might have been more fun with slightly faster movement, though?

TriBeard says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:48pm

I like the risk/reward mechanic of your laser using up energy. Could've done with a bit better balancing imo, but still fun!

Oleg Zhurko says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Nice and simple game. Still a little bit unbalanced. I just moved down and hold 'left' and 'space' keys. I really like main character and the 'UFO is attacking our city' feeling! :)

May 1, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Hilarious and fun. 4700 points before I gave up. The game stopped having mines at some point. Of course I figured out the endless strategy....nice job :)
Another UFO themed game. Here's mine http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=20873

MartianWatts says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Thank you, we will publish this game post jam we are listen all your feedback

ilovepixel says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:01am

Fun game, but I was losing very fast. It has nice art and music.

SneakySalmon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:14am

Very awesome. Clean art style and music, nice job. :D

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:47pm

This is a great game with original concept. And I liked the sound effects.

SmilingCat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:26am

Love the concept, cool gameplay.

I'm not very good at it, though. I don't seem to be able to last very long. I think my best was around 170 abductions.

lotusgame says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Very hard ^^ Really moody game. I like it !! But too hard for me ^^

May 7, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Very cool idea, smooth gameplay. However, it seems the bounding box for some of the mines are much bigger than its drawings. I died a lot of time just by getting "near" one (the distance was at least one mine farther).

Rafael Sales says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Nice game! Good vibe and fun gameplay. Even though the difficult in the beggining is very high, so I suggest to reduce it just to extend the early experience. Congratz anyway!!

GranaDa says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Loved the audio but the spaceship loss energy very fast and the laser ray uses too much power making it a bit hard. Nice entry!

imagnity says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:18pm

I very much enjoyed the rewards. It's always amazing to get rewards. Catchy mechanic!

LionelJitro says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Hehe, I like this. Nice and simple game play rules, clean graphics and cool sounds. I didn't know abducting little potato/black ball creatures could be so fun.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:29am

fun -- could not figure out how to get more energy tho -- great effort

May 8, 2013 @ 6:06am

Good fun and I'm enjoying potatoes finding their way into so many games this LD! :P

robotality says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:12am

Great visuals and sounds. I found the gameplay a little bit unbalanced and I had a hard time to not loose very soon.
Anyway great first entry!

MrShoestore says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:33am

Great Audio. gameplay is fun, but a bit unbalanced. so some playthroughs were really short having houses with only a couple little dudes in them.

May 9, 2013 @ 7:56am

Great audio and visuals. Gameplay needs polish. I kept losing and wasn't sure why. Seemed like a very small window of failure (I assume running out of energy). Ship controls could use some work to be more responsive and less floaty? Overall very solid and I'd work on it more. Could be a lot of fun!

daniel2357 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Great game and fun too. I kept loosing also even though i shot every house, didn't shot the mines and didn't waste energy for nothing. But overall a great game :D

May 9, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Fun little game!

kill0u says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Nice!

jacklehamster says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:34am

Nice graphics and fun ambiance. Too bad that the entire game can be played just by leaving your fingers on right and space. ;-/

MinionStudios says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Fun and funny!

CogComp says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:15am

This could make a really fun mobile game, given that it really doesn't need more than two buttons to play. Great work!

Almax27 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:41am

Good fun until you realise you can just hold right and space while hovering just above ground :P

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Fun game. Like the thermin!

Saturnyn says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 11:35am

Great work but I think it is not really well balanced: as long as you fly low abducting seems to be done automatically and you can spam lasers while never running out of energy.
Loved the art and music anyway :)

May 15, 2013 @ 2:39am

i kind of like went forever. Once i passed 3000 points or abductions it was funny. getting to that point was hilarious. I liked sucking up the ppl for energy, although that is really weird if you think about it...

dannycalleri says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:33am

Maybe not that minimal, but nice game

May 17, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Looks like you can fly at a low level, keeping SPACE pressed, forever... Did it for some minutes... Still, not too bad a game, just a bit easy...

Wet Heads says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Nice idea and nice game. Music is cool as well :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]