April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

omph

by tikilittle - Jam Entry

Hey all! This is my first Ludum Dare. I had a lot of fun putting this together. I was thinking: could I create a minimal HyperCard adventure. I spent Saturday and most of Sunday: just trying to make as many puzzles as possible. I made about 11 or so, but by Monday I decided to cut it down. If I had more time and skill, I would have made a soundtrack. I hope you like it and if you want more: let me know in the comments!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#51Theme(Jam)4.00
#122Innovation(Jam)3.43
#200Graphics(Jam)3.50
#202Mood(Jam)3.16
#256Overall(Jam)3.17
#291Fun(Jam)2.83
#1503Coolness41%

Comments

Korda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:05am

I didnt understand what was happening

Richard Matey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Great what have you been able to accomplish with no text, it is really fun trying to figure out something entirely new but I was stuck on this puzzle. http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7319/e4dd2d6e5267426e9dc085f.png sound effects would be a great touch. Reminded me of The Room.

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Wow, this is really abstract, I like it. I made it through a few puzzles but got stuck, it's hard to discern what the objective is in many cases, but I guess that's part of the game? I would suggest giving some kind of feedback (sound or visual) when the player makes progress toward solving a puzzle, and/or give the puzzles an explicit general theme, like "restore the symmetry." Good job though, nice first time entry!

Haversack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:19pm

I have no Idea what is going on but it is fun to mess around till things happen! Sound effects would be great. Just a little ding when you figure something out/ getting warmer towards a solution.

CMaster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:20pm

I don't know what that was.

Got as far as the letters thing, didn't have a clue what the aim was there.

john_conder9 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:40pm

I too was totally confused, but, it was pretty cool. I made it to the letters with the ball in the circle track with the triangle spinning around, but I couldn't discern what to do with them. It was really cool, and some thematic music would have made this game chilling I think. I love it!

JMickle says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:12pm

loved the ending :) (when i got it)

May 5, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Good style, I got stuck at the triangle thing that spins around to make letters, or maybe that was the end?

May 5, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Interesting but I had no clue what was going on due to lack of explanation. I understand this may have been on purpose but maybe some sort of cryptic hint could have helped it feel more complete

DST says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:27am

Moody and cool looking! Very interesting puzzles too! I like that you did not explain it to people. This is how games used to be: Sit down and figure it out. :)

kibertoad says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:36pm

it looks and feels truly elegant. even considering how much I suck at puzzlers.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]