April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

3D - GameEngine - Terry

by cr4zyt3rry - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a quick thing i made over the weekend for the Ludum Dare 26 + i'm only 14 years old - Sorry about it not being finished i didn't have enough time to work on the game as i hoped. Ill keep working on it and ill keep updating it ill post all updates on my twitter here : https://twitter.com/Terryd98
thank you!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1979Coolness10%

Comments

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Fits the theme nicely :P
Keep it up, the engine is feeling smooth so far

May 1, 2013 @ 5:05pm

>Cough< Cherno. Looks good.

john_conder9 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Well ... it's certainly minimal. I'd be interested to see where you go with this, but since it's not really a game as is there isn't much to say :x

cr4zyt3rry says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:41pm

haha it probably looks like chernos because thats where i learned how to code ;)

DST says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:31am

Great to see someone making an engine from scratch! And you're doing it in pure software it seems, that's really something!
If you ever feel like adding 3D objects (I suggest sprites for this kind of engine, they are MUCH faster to draw and more forgiving to implement), take a look at the .obj format, it's very simple for a 3D file format, and both the .obj file (raw 3D data) and .mtl (material description) are plaintext and well documented. :)

ahm99 says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 4:32pm

TheDanielBerry: *cough* same thing I was thinking :)

ahm99 says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 4:53pm

cr4zyt3rry: I don't have anything wrong with his videos but I don't recommend that is how you learn to code. His game development is good, but teaching game development and coding at the same time is hard. I've learned the hard way that your best option is a book :) By "learned the hard way" I mean that I learned through the most popular YouTube Java tutorial, and in the end I still only knew about 1% of what I needed to know. The people who write the books get payed a lot of money (seriously, those books are like $50) to write those books, so they put effort into making it good so they get good reviews and people buy it. Sorry if I sound negative, I'm just trying to help :)

StMatn says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:36pm

I instantly thought about the cherno. Looks nice though, so keep working on it. The framerate is a bit low on my i5/gForce540M and mouse-controls are extremely sensitive or broken. I hope you extent this into a proper game. Nice work so far.

numpad says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:56pm

A game with this engine (by cherno ;P) would be great :)

Uhfgood says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 5:06am

Quite interesting. Very impressive for a 14 year old. Keep at it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]