April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

O

by Mystify - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Minimalism is stripping down something to its essential elements. For a game, fun and usability are essential, so there is more to it than something bare-bones. O is a platformer game with very simple, straightforward mechanics, and I hope it manages to be fun with them.
XBox controllers are supported, but mouse+keyboard works too
Note: Since people seem to be overlooking it, the mouse tilt can be inverted from the main menu. P brings up the pause menu, which can return you to the main menu

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#383Fun3.17
#498Audio2.79
#598Mood2.83
#634Overall3.10
#735Graphics2.80
#847Theme3.23
#863Humor1.83
#1084Innovation2.30

Comments

Jim Haslett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:32am

I really enjoyed this game. I love the way you could see the track going on forever in the distance. I kept getting hung up on the up/down camera controls. They felt backward to me.

Great job!

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:33am

Doesn't seem to want to run on Linux. The .x86_64 seems to be all zeros and the .x86 version segfaults.

ronsho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:36am

That was actually pretty fun! Camera movements felt up/down backwards. Good music.

Sayaer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:37am

I kept wanting to follow the track as far as i could but man did it get hard! Lots of fun though, thank you.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:39am

Wow, this looks pretty good. It was pretty long, too. Awesome job!

neight says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:39am

Really loved this.

Tiago says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:40am

Very nice game, for some reason it reminded me of playing Sonic 3D! Cool graphics and sounds!

Mystify says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:49am

@Jim Haslett/ronsho
There is an option to invert the up/down camera controls on the main menu

JAH2488 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:51am

Fun little game. The framerate took a huge hit for me for some reason, but before that it was fun.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:39am

Wow what a level reminds me of marble madness gj

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:42am

I liked it. Despite the weird camera angle it was actually fairly controllable, and the effect of seeing the track forever was cool. I really like how theres the traditional "end of the track" scattered about an infinite course. Clever!

Nolan C says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:43am

This was quite a lot of fun. The simple, colorful graphics work well. I would have liked to control the camera while moving and jumping, but I don't have an xbox controller or 3 hands. Still, quality game.

Mystify says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:58am

@Nolan C
left hand on WASD and space, right hand on mouse

moomoo112 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:40am

camera felt awkward, and seeing my mouse move all over the place didn't help

May 2, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Very nicely simplified take on the 3D platformer genre. Some things to note, though, are that the camera felt very jerky and some of the coins felt tedious to pick up (maybe their collision box should've been bigger?). The music is fairly generic but it's unobtrusive and works for the purpose. The coin sound is kind of weird.

daniel2357 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:48pm

The mouse control is a bit hard and ×›rustrating. But the overall game is very nice. I suggest that if you smash a red-ball you gain 1 point or something like that.

Mystify says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Could people be more specific about the camera issues? I spent hours hammering it into something that I found worked very well and made the platforming easy, I added in tilt inversion and sensitivity controls. "Its frustrating" doesn't help me figure out what other people want out of it.

mrexcessive says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Some zbuffer glitching where prims overlap right at start. Nice huge level... fun moving around. Camera to set move direction probably needs lower/upper limit on angle relative to player object... otherwise easy to set "impossible to proceed" view which has to be unwound by lifting mouse (for me anyway). Good job.

Floko says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 4:09pm

this is fun, but i got a bit held back by the camera controls.
Also I wish I would be rewarded by killing enemies, with points or something. It just wasn't worth killing any of them because I got nothing in return :(

Still it was a fun game, overall =]

CMaster says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:50pm

That's a minimalistic platformer all right.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]