April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Worm outbreak!

by Magewalkr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It was a long 48 hours and its been fun best of luck to all :D :D :D :D

W: jump A: left D:right SPACE: swing net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1063Audio1.40
#1225Innovation2.06
#1281Graphics1.94
#1306Fun1.75
#1324Theme2.25
#1335Overall1.88
#1800Coolness24%

Comments

@SamPotasz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:11pm

I can't interact with it, which makes me sad... UNLESS THAT IS YOUR SUPER MINIMALIST POINT IN WHICH CASE BRAVO

Magewalkr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:41pm

maybe it was muahahahaha...btw, interact as in catch? because if so then that's an issue >.<

wolfadex says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:09am

When I run it, the window is stuck in the top left corner of the screen. I don't see the player's character anywhere on screen and when I press Space, the game appears to freeze. Hope you're able to fix it.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:09am

In the screenshot, it looks like there's a character with a net. I never see it, and the game freezes after about ten seconds. The controls don't seem to do anything...

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:10am

I can't really do anything. It launches, shows the worms, counts down... but hitting space does nothing, and if I attempt to drag the window, it freaks out. Can't really play it. :-(

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:10am

Pretty worms... but I can't seem to do anything with them. Sad times.

Zathalos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:10am

There is no character and the game freezes after 5 seconds.

Andy West says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:10am

I'm having the same problem. :( The window is stuck in the upper-right corner of my screen, and pressing buttons does nothing, even with focus on the window.

Andy West says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:11am

I mean left... upper-left.

bernhard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Same as wolfadex here ...
Love the filesize of this entry though, good job :-)

smealum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:26pm

same here, can't do anything, so i didn't rate it. :/ nice worms though !

Gravity Games says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Sadly, I was not able to play this entry. The window was stuck on the top left, and froze when I pressed the spacebar too many times.

Magewalkr says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:45am

ok guys I've finally fixed the issues :D!! ... the only thing is you have to extract the files from the zip folder so the jar would be able to access them, thanks for playing :D.

Blinked says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:42am

The game controls kinda strangely, I like the idea of it, and I love the trail effect on the worm things.

KayZ says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:13am

Same here. Window stuck in the top left and when I press space the game freezes and this exception is thrown:

java.io.FileNotFoundException: <some path>\net.au (The system cannot find the file specified)
at java.io.FileInputStream.open(Native Method)
at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(Unknown Source)
at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.www.protocol.file.FileURLConnection.connect(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.www.protocol.file.FileURLConnection.getInputStream(Unknown S
urce)
at java.net.URL.openStream(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.media.sound.WaveFloatFileReader.getAudioInputStream(Unknown
ource)
at javax.sound.sampled.AudioSystem.getAudioInputStream(Unknown Source)
at ludamDare.SoundEffect.<init>(SoundEffect.java:31)
at ludamDare.SoundEffect.<clinit>(SoundEffect.java:11)
at ludamDare.worms.pHits(worms.java:69)
at ludamDare.DCatcher.collision(DCatcher.java:127)
at ludamDare.DCatcher.move(DCatcher.java:168)
at ludamDare.DPanel.gameUpdate(DPanel.java:270)
at ludamDare.DPanel.run(DPanel.java:219)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
Exception in thread "Thread-2" java.lang.NullPointerException
at ludamDare.SoundEffect.play(SoundEffect.java:49)
at ludamDare.worms.pHits(worms.java:69)
at ludamDare.DCatcher.collision(DCatcher.java:127)
at ludamDare.DCatcher.move(DCatcher.java:168)
at ludamDare.DPanel.gameUpdate(DPanel.java:270)
at ludamDare.DPanel.run(DPanel.java:219)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

And it's right, there is no net.au file anywhere in the jar or on my system. Should it be included in the jar?

KayZ says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:19am

Didn't see you already uploaded a fixed version. Works fine now.

doos says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Was a bit tricky to find my round red guy in amongst the blue red and green blobs. The movement of the worms was excellent, though a bit quick. (Was pretty random whether I caught one or not). Could have flipped between the left and right motion images when the net swung.

Magewalkr says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:11am

thanks for playing and thanks for the comments :D, much appreciated

StMatn says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:21am

Neat idea! The falling speed was a little annoying, but the game was fun anyway. Good job!

Magewalkr says ...
May 26, 2013 @ 2:16am

thanks :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]