April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Coin Gatherer

by XtremePrime - 48 Hour Compo Entry

** Had a bug that jumped the start straight to level 14 instead of 1, I fixed that really quick. **

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#759Theme3.33
#914Overall2.83
#940Fun2.56
#963Audio1.93
#1142Innovation2.22
#1150Graphics2.21
#1720Coolness30%

Comments

Gas says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:32am

Quite a nice game one of the best ones ive played. when voting starts ill give it a vote. if you would vote on mine to please :D

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Nice simple game. Pretty damn hard though. Got to be pixel perfect in some areas. :D

XtremePrime says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Just realized there was a bug that skips the first 13 levels, fixed it now and I'm pretty sure no rules of LD48 were broken :3

Thornwhipp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Better than sex

graytest says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:06pm

I liked the level with the moving walls. The others (I didn't play all of them though) got a bit tedious since it wasn't difficult to complete them, just took time.

Meep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Very simple and fits the theme well. It's fun, but I feel it's very slow paced for the given difficulty level. Good work, though. :)

Fadobo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Matching the theme pretty well, some levels are really cool, but some are very tedious, slowing down the game a lot.

messiano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Very simple and minimal, however sometimes the level design is too repetitive (such as level 5). It could use some BG music! If fits the theme, I also tried a top-down "atari-like" game.

dook says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:33pm

This wasn't all bad. Once things were moving and enemies appeared it was alright but I almost quit whenever a level had too many coins. It was just too tedious.

HelkeGames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:40am

Love the graphic and the concept, very minimal! I really enjoyed it well done :D

Spelchan says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Some of the levels require a bit too precise timing which for reflex-challenged people like me made the game way too difficult and when it wasn't too difficult it was too boring.

May 6, 2013 @ 8:08pm

It started getting interessting in the 3rd level and got challanging. Really minimalistic game, missed some music but liked the game pretty much.

goerp says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:56pm

This was minimalistic. I like that you used coins to give it a bit of a retro/arcade feeling.
Also quite a bit of variety in levels.
It could use some work on the levels I think. Some a bit more difficult, some a bit shorter. But there's lots of ways to expand this (some music would be nice)!

Tifu says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:29pm

I think this would have been a better experience with some of the "filler" type levels removed, some of the levels have some interesting mechanics as far as I played (I got as far as the moving walls one), but levels that are overly simple (like the one that is just coins, or that just require moving around without any difficulty) kind of get in the way of enjoying the challenging better levels. I like how the perspective changed, does it do more than platformer/top-down further in?

XtremePrime says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:13pm

@Tifu: Unfortunately no. I was planning for a self-moving side scroll action, where you would only need to jump in order to dodge obstacles and grab coins, but I was running out of time and adding a new game mechanic would cost some time, plus, I would've had to design those levels too.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]