April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hit The Button

by IHateATMFees - Jam Entry

This is my first ever game. I am equally parts proud and embarrassed.

For instructions, please consult the name. Try and hit the button as fast as it comes up. There are 5 (upgradable) trophies to discover. Warning: if you start missing the button enough, the game may get angry at you.

If the game does not start, please try the version with dependencies included.

Here's a post-mortem that explains my intentions: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/04/30/hit-the-button-post-mortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#161Theme(Jam)3.59
#248Humor(Jam)2.25
#462Innovation(Jam)2.30
#492Graphics(Jam)2.32
#504Mood(Jam)1.95
#542Fun(Jam)1.86
#544Overall(Jam)2.18

Comments

Ninjaxio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:38am

I can say the game is alright, while it certainly fits the theme of minimalism, it doesn't have too much going for it, though the effects are nice. I don't exactly like how I have to download two things just to get the game working. It's alright, not exactly fun, per say, but, decent.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:59am

Pretty nice game, not sure what the objective is but still held my interest enough to eventually die. Nice work.

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:04am

Windows 8 64-bit, can't get it to open. No errors though, just won't open :x

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:10am

Doesn't work for me. Windows 7 64-bit, just stops responding, nothing shows up.

wrongcoder says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:11am

Same as john_conder9.

MemphisTen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:11am

cannot open it. kaspersky says it is a keylogger :)

dont lock my keys buddy! seriously dude!

IHateATMFees says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:21am

Sorry please make sure both .Net 4 and Open AL are installed. I've tested on both Windows 7 & 8 (64-bit) and it runs for me. I'll be releasing an installer and Android port in a couple days.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:51am

You certainly followed the theme, but beyond the thrill of seeing what other UI elements you will pop up there is little enjoyment to be had with this game.

IHateATMFees says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:01am

Everyone who could not play the game earlier: I have added a version that comes complete with all needed dependencies, so please give that a try. I also added a couple screenshots of non-obvious game stuff.

TehSkull says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:32am

Wasn't able to play. Even using the dependencies-included version.

billknye says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:34am

Simple, certainly minimalist. I think it could have used just a bit more, maybe moving the button around so you had to be quick to click might have added just slightly more.

Jed Mayberry says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:37am

Doesn't run for me, sorry.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:39am

The graphics are fine, and I suppose it fits the theme.. but it's hard to keep being entertained this way.

bowlercaptain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:55am

Unfortunately, this game doesn't really feel like a game. It's just a thing that you click. After waiting for a few seconds and losing coins for the first time, near-instant clicks following also resulted in negatives. Waiting again fixed it. Doesn't particularly feel like it fits the theme - minimalism is the stripping out of non-essential elements, and this was stripping out all elements save for user activity and progression. If I felt like the game was a satire or something and could laugh along with it then maybe I could deal with it better, but at the moment it wasn't at any time actually fun.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:18pm

It felt extremely passive and unpredictable. Not sure if there's a message/meaning behind it. If that's the case, I was unable to understand it :(

May 2, 2013 @ 6:59pm

It's a bit dull, although it fits the minimalist theme there isnt all that much to do in the game.

May 4, 2013 @ 11:23am

Sadly it just crashes when I try to start it. :( (Windows XP, 32bit)

avidgamerNino says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:08am

It looks pretty. Maybe The faster I click, when the button appears, the more points I get?

tiffi says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:42pm

thats one minimalistic game!

kibertoad says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:56pm

This entry was quite confusing. Clicking the button quickly after it appears caused me to lose credits, while waiting for a while didn't seem to impose a penalty. Pretty minimalistic though!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]