April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Unfalling Star

by diegolh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I used for create my game, Illustrator, Photoshop, Construct 2(Programming), After Effects

I never create a game before, my game is incompleted, but is my first attempt to make a game, and my first participation on Ludum Dare, I hope you guys enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#91Graphics3.95
#812Humor1.89
#1018Overall2.71
#1034Innovation2.41
#1060Fun2.39
#1080Mood2.29
#1260Theme2.56

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:29pm

The art is nice, congrats! You should change the name of the game (It appears as Diego Luiz Henrique). Also, some instructions would be nice. Took me a while to figure the mouse controlled the horizontal movement of the star.

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Loved the style but the controls are a bit hard to get used to and to control them well

eteeski says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:22am

The art looks really nice. the game play is really hard though.

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Fantastic graphics! However, the player is too hard to control because even the horizontal movement erratically follows the mouse pointer, making gameplay too random. I couldn't get past the second level.

PixelOaks says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:11am

Would have to agree with the opinions of the controls. I think if the first couple of levels were a bit simpler, it would give people time to adjust to the controls.

docix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:13am

The art is obviously fantastic as mentioned above. Controls feel just a little stiff compared to the elegant look and feel. And then a great audio track would totally help the whole experience. But overall, very excellent work!

peaveyj says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:14am

Great idea. I found it really hard, but it might be because I'm using a laptop touchpad.

Tom 7 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:14am

I think it's pretty good, especially for a first game! The thing that was weirdest for me was how my clicking produced a small local effect of "unfalling", but the star was moved by my absolute mouse position -- it was hard to wrap my head around those two simultaneously, and I kept crashing. Also, if I crashed a lot, the game started to get really slow. I think there might be some kind of leak?

anjack says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:14am

Beautiful graphics! This is a really great game for your first time. You should be proud!

jayemjee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:16am

The concept is interesting, and the game is fun, but I feel the pacing is a little off. The levels are a little too long and checkpoints too few for a game with such touchy controls where the tiniest little mistake makes you start all over. I like challenge, but I prefer that kind of challenge in smaller doses.

diegolh says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:56am

Thanks for the Tips guys!Im read all the comments And I'm learning a lot with the Tips, im working on tutorial for the controls, and save points to dont make the game boring...

onzephyr says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:34am

Nice visual style. enjoyed the concept. The controls took a bit to get used to but I managed. well done.

May 1, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Fun and nice graphics! Good luck!

imagnity says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:42pm

This game is close to all 5 stars if -

1. Levels are too long for the missions.
2. I cannot use the controls right or maybe I just suck.
3. Checkpoints are not organized correctly. Felt random.

Overall, a 4-star game.

May 1, 2013 @ 5:43pm

the visual are good but its extremely hard to navigate(play)

daniel2357 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:47pm

The star is a little hard to control. Nice visual style.
Awesome game for the first time!. Good luck with improving him.

geckojsc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Really beautiful design work, but like others, I found the controls a little hard to work with (the only way to move horizontally in a straight line is to jitter up and down, which makes it very hard to stay alive).
Maybe some gentle acceleration/deceleration would have worked better.

Definitely 5/5 for graphics, and a pretty original idea, especially for a first game! Well done. :)

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Threading the corners is really hard so I didn't make it very far, but the graphics are gorgeous.

May 2, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Congrats for your first game.

Super Hamster says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:43am

Very interesting and challenging but not impossible. Good job! :D

heuermh says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:43am

Very nice visuals. I thought the game was quite hard . . . guess I've been neglecting my mouse skills for too long.

gregdevice says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:05am

Really nice graphics, no sound in Chrome, crazy hard controls. Would play again with easier controls. Thanks!

May 3, 2013 @ 10:10am

I think using the keyboard would be a better choice for the controls, at least instead of the frantic clicking. Gave up on level 2 because my arm started hurting. Beautiful graphics though! As docix said, some music would make the experience a lot more immersive.

lotusgame says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:04am

I really like graphics. The concept is very interesting. But it's too hard to control, mostly at the begining. But still a very good job.

May 3, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Neat idea! Ridiculously hard, though

KunoNoOni says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Congrats on your first game! Beautiful graphics, and great use of theme. I do agree the star was a little hard to control but otherwise its a great game.

Nick Cash says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:38pm

From my Jammate Brian: "Graphics are beautiful, controls are a really unforgiving considering the size of passage ways."

Sylvain says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Nice graphics, the level design becomes pretty hard though, and too early in the game. But good job for a first time!

csanyk says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Great visuals. Controls were a bit too difficult -- dealing with a mouse pointer as the target for where I'm going while the background scrolls independently is just a recipe for ragequit.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]