April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Labyrinth Run

by goleegrees - Jam Entry

Me and my friend decided that this time we would participate in the Ludum Dare Jam!

After a couple of hours of debating over ideas we started to work on one idea each to see which one would turn out the best. After more hours of work and lastly failing to reach an agreement over which idea we should implement, we decided to continue down separate paths and implement one game each :)

Here are my entry, which I got weirdly hooked on after some hours of brainstorming. The idea is very simple, it's a runner game with a never ending labyrinth.

Hope you'll enjoy it!


Also here is my friends entry http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=23576

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#270Fun(Jam)2.89
#321Theme(Jam)3.15
#333Overall(Jam)2.96
#345Audio(Jam)2.64
#349Innovation(Jam)2.73
#468Mood(Jam)2.28
#521Graphics(Jam)2.12
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

Badrpas says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:23am

I like it.
Need more difficulty progression :).

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:32am

Controlling with the mouse was a nice change of pace. Just add some obstacles (teleports, enemies, etc.) and it'd be crazy fun!

dook says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:48am

Nice twist on the runner game :) It did get a little too tough some times, though, with dead ends running very far to the right. I didn't feel like I had a chance to spot I was running down a dead end before it was too late. Also having to hold down the mouse button caused me to slip once in a while. Good idea, though.

May 1, 2013 @ 10:51am

I think the game would have been way more enjoyable with keyboard controls, and with less dead-ends in the labyrinth

skintkingle says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:52am

I spent quite a while on this game. I think it would be better if you didn't have to hold left click, it just strains the finger more than anything else. Also agree with all other comments.

infernet89 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:52am

Really nice idea, and very well executed random level generator! Personally, i should preferred keyboard control, rathere than mouse one, but it's just a preference.

Need more difficult breakdown, something like increasing speed

May 1, 2013 @ 10:52am

Really needs to ramp up the difficulty at some point. In its current state it's very relaxing, but I don't think that's the idea. (;

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:52am

It doesn't seem to work in the latest version of Chrome or Firefox for me. I just get a blank screen.

cahman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:04am

Nice job! Add in some more content and you'll have a real winner!

goleegrees says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:36am

WOW! Thanks for all the great feedback!

Yeah the difficulty should probably increase in some way, in it's current state it's more like an endurance test :)

Regarding the "holding the mouse button down"-issue, it's because I always try to build games that would transition well to mobile, but I should probably have fixed so that you could click to hold or release the ball on PC.

@The Consul. Try to wait a moment and then press the address bar and enter, it fixes the problem for me. I have tried to fix this bug but it mocks me, it appears when I have many big assets in the project. I develop using Haxe/NME, if anyone recognise the problem feel free to hint a solution.

May 1, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Nice mechanice!

8BitPimp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Nice game but I agree that there needs to be more of a difficulty progression since it gets a little harder then tails off. Also it would be nice if the thing you control is a little more responsive. Still nice concept and executed well.

May 2, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Imho, this game can be even more enjoyable with more different game objects.

May 2, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Fun! But, the mouse control was a little awkward because of the constantly moving screen though. It would've been a little better control if I wasn't forced to hold the mouse button down.

Spiridios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:21pm

I like the concept. I sat there holding my left mouse button for quite a while before I got bored and committed suicide to get a high score. Other than the button mechanic, I liked the mouse control.

Some progression, like the occasional goal or level boundary would be nice. Also, some of those coins are damn hard to get to, make them worth more points so that the reward feels worth the risk.

mortus says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Nice little game. I wonder if labyrinth generation algorithm was challenging to code.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]