April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cube Dinosaurs?

by PyroSneak - Jam Entry

Hi, this was my first Ludum Dare and I think I did alright. I made a little platformer in Unity3d and Blender for models. it's pretty simple, shouldn't take much explanation. well. here you go :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#82Humor(Jam)3.11
#270Fun(Jam)2.89
#287Graphics(Jam)3.13
#309Mood(Jam)2.81
#384Overall(Jam)2.85
#400Audio(Jam)2.16
#441Theme(Jam)2.73
#477Innovation(Jam)2.23
#1485Coolness42%

Comments

Nolojen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Nice and Simple, good 3-d modeling work. Soundtrack could use some work. Nice job!

neight says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Had fun playing it. Good use of theme and dinosaurs. The soundtrack was minimalist, but doesn't work looping it as long as you have to. Could have used more potato. GREAT WORK!!

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Game was quite amusing.

Hertzila says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:48pm

A decent game. Hit detection works most of the time (couple of times the helmet enemy hit me through the helmet) and the controls work (would have liked up for jump though). Soundtrack could use a bit more, though.

Also, that game over screen... D:<

bytegrove says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Cute characters! I always appreciate a game involving dinosaurs. Love the big grin on the main character. :D
The lighthearted tutorial instructions were a nice touch.
The controls and physics felt pretty wonky though. Maybe try to speed up the movement or acceleration of the main character? I also didn't really get if I could jump on top of the helmet dudes as sometimes I took damage when landing on their heads, and sometimes I didn't. I also think I found a bug where I managed to respawn inside the big dinosaur after falling off the map. The music was a little repetitive and could use some further work.
Other than those issues, great work for your first entry! Keep making games with cool characters! :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:05pm

lol, hilarious, esp the music. I wish the collision with the "koopas" weren't so floaty, but it's fun =)

Bevilacqua says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:49pm

I like it entertained me for a while.

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Game controls well, and the jaws look menacing when they approach you... the rest of the game could use some tuning,specially the music... even pacman has longer loops!

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Simple minimalist game, I just love the graphics. It might be better if it was faster, just my personal opinion.

folmerkelly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Enjoyed it! Pretty strong visuals, too.

Andy Go says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:35pm

I like dinosaurs :)

Farfin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:58pm

I like that you could "climb" back up ledges if you didn't make the jump

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Like the arts!, i enjoy the game but i felt is was kindy slow :D

May 1, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Amesome Dinosaur !

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:00am

it was a fun game -- the controls could have been a little better -- great effort!

May 2, 2013 @ 6:23am

Nice art style. Solid effort. A good jump time is about .6-.7 secs (ie: it was floaty).

ovenchips says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:45am

Cute graphics - loved the big dino chasing you down. I reckon you should speed up the action a bit and pull the camera back perhaps. Well done - nice entry!

terrivellmann says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Jumping feels weird, but still entertaining.

Tyro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Cube Dinosaurs? Why yes, yes they are. Wish the platforming was a bit more varied, but the models were cute.

vapgames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Music is perfect for the theme, and it synchronizes with animation XD. I discovered the loop changes at around 90 points, i couldn't get further, does it change again later?
For smoother object movement you can turn on linear interpolation for rigid bodies. Character controller needs more work.

May 2, 2013 @ 8:58pm

I think (perhaps this is just due to me getting old and losing my reflexes) but I'd like a bit more screen in front of the player so you have more time to react to oncoming dudes. Fun though!

sudorossy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Really cute game. The soundtrack can get annoying after a while, as the gameplay can get repetitive. Great job for a first LD though!

May 7, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Hey, cool game! Good job with the 3d modelling
The music was kind of annoying.. i tried muting it but it started playing again after a while :/
But yeah.. your attempts at making music was still better than mine.. i gave that up, so kudos to you! :P

GameNacho says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Cute animation on the main character, and when the big dinosaur constantly chasing me was introduced it brought the game to a whole new level.

kidevil says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:14am

Good sense of humour and nice 3D work :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]