April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bounce me

by Norritt42 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a game about bouncing a ball around. You have flat and angle shaped trampolines to aid you. There are instructions at the beginning of each level. It's a steep learning curve, but you will get it! :)

Video of the game play: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iUtiLuTqtMo

I will release all code as http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/ when the completion is done at my indie db page
http://www.indiedb.com/members/norritt42.

Hope you enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#396Innovation3.33
#627Humor2.13
#683Audio2.49
#901Graphics2.60
#1128Theme2.84
#1147Mood2.17
#1158Fun2.23
#1167Overall2.51

Comments

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:38pm

It's very original !

Joror says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45pm

A review of "Bounce me" - by Norritt42, who knows he is a Potato.

The first thing that struck me as I started up the game was the music: calm, digital, a little bit minimalistic tribal.
Excellent full menu with all the options you need, often overlooked. The ability to chose unlocked levels (which are remembered between web-reloads!), add to the replay value.
Visually stark, and a bit empty it fits the theme, but I did find it a bit too pastel-y at times.
During the game itself you get the initial 'learn to play' levels, where I just 'do' something and it works. But going towards level 6/7, I have to start thinking about what I actually have to do. Challenging at the higher levels, I didn't finish it all.
The more manic version of the menu-music is very pressing, I try to imagine the game with a soft piano concerto, and I can't!

I would summarize my experience of this game thusly:
"I stare down at a flat green floor hunting for shadows from above, hunted onwards, ever repeating, by a jittering drum."

(PS. Nicknamewise - Always loved the artwork on that MtG card. And apparent you also know the answer to the ultimate

Reviewed in full and according to the laws of interweb-promises.
-Joror-

runonthespot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Found it quite hard to control- and obviously I don't play enough FPS since it took me a full 30 seconds to realise that I could move :) AFter that, quite neat. Hard, but neat.

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Pretty hard. Nice visuals. :)

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:40pm

It was very hard to find out where the ball was going to fall. Overall the game and idea a very nice and interesting.

FenrisWolf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:43pm

I loved it!

A lot of the time I just did trial and error to find the right spots of where the ball lands. The visual style and music made the game just feel and play great. Nice job!

multikorv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Pretty hard to control, especially on my laptop without a mouse. :)

dick_claus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:50pm

I think it would be great if game would have some different scenarios. Not just bounce times.
Usually was running backwards, there was no need in moving forward.

Macroz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Overall a bit difficult to follow the ball and run at the same time but well done.

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Nice game! Really challenging and fun. Congratz!

Cyboot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:06pm

good game :)
pretty difficult, had to play a few times to get how the game works.

shines says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Neat idea! Found it hard to figure out how to move and toss mats. A quick overlay on that first level would help a ton.

multitude says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:22pm

innovative concept. i like it. maybe 3rd person or a higher view point would have been better for this, as it is quite hard to see where the ball will hit next.

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Thank you all. The later levels contains an other type of game play not counting bounces. The last to levels also have very different layout. :)

What an evolving learning experience LD is. It's my first but definitely not my last LD :).

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:49pm

This was too difficult for me. Only way to beat few levels was too spam the bouncers. I'm quite disabled when it comes to 3D though.

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Sorry. It's ment to be like super eat boy meets ping pong in 3D. But i mayby went over bord on the dificulty. :)

Kyle Bolton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:41pm

I wish I had a reticle to show me where the flats would be placed. Aside from that, well done!

SuperDisk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:43pm

It was a neat idea, not so neat execution.

It mostly involved running around randomly and throwing down mats until you beat the level.

Also, the beginning instruction texts only stayed for about 0.5 seconds, so I couldn't read them, I had to look at your screenshot on what to do.

sharbelfs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:51pm

It's hard to understand in the first times, but it's very original.

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:00pm

SuperDisk: Sorry. That's a strange glitch I don't know how to work around it yet. It should work but it doesn't?

The hardest part of the design is to make the player understand how to play the game. I failed obviously :(. The game is not that hard if you understand how you should play.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:42pm

original idea.. found it quite hard to get going at first but kind of got the hang of it ..good stuff man :)

tankete says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:26am

Too difficult for me. I had a hard time controlling with my mouse.

wademcgillis says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Very hard.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:37am

It was hard to figure out what was going on, because the text for the instructions at the beginning of the level disappeared before I could read them. I tried reading them a few times but it was too fast and I never successfully read them! Thankfully, I found the instructions on the site. It's a great concept, but the first-person perspective makes it very difficult to estimate where the ball will land. I ended up tossing trampolines just ahead of the shadow, which got me to level 5 which was a little too hard for me.

stqn says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:32pm

No Linux build :(.

Norritt42 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:19pm

stqn: Sorry, next LD i will do that.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]