April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Minimalist Cave

by arnaudmolle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi! This is my first LD.

This first version is pretty buggy. I'm sorry
I gonna fix it as quick as possible.

Conrol A/D = MOVE
Space = Jump
Click = Teleport in the minimalist cave

Enjoy It...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#722Graphics2.82
#899Audio2.10
#975Humor1.65
#1158Theme2.77
#1239Mood1.75
#1271Innovation1.95
#1340Fun1.33
#1341Overall1.71
#1636Coolness35%

Comments

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Side note: Your game link appears to be broken.
Once I actually figured out how to start the game by clicking it was actually pretty fun, although the collision detection seems kinda broken and once my character decided to become a block (~so I travelled the world outside the confines of the level~), but if you managed to fix the bugs it would probably be decent. I liked the art style and the audio.

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:01pm

I find it buggy, clicking with mouse somehow changes level etc. Nice look/mood.
(PS. Next time perhaps make a webpage with the .swf embedded, I had to download it and then drag to web browser to get to play it.)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:24pm

It's good looking unfortunately it's a little buggy, my player is often out of the screen :(

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Your direct link : https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/5jzoqx13nu2m607/The_Minimalist_Cave.swf

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Is it completely bugged, or a massive troll? I'm not clear on the relationship between my inputs and the gamestate.

Axelhein says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:51pm

The collisions are pretty buggy. Clicking the mouse sometimes causes the level to change, but I am not really sure why. This might be me not getting it, or the fact that some mechanics are not explained. The graphics are pretty nice, though.

Axelhein says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:57pm

As I was typing that comment you edited the description. I think I know the point of the game now. Pretty cool idea. I would also recommend that you upload the game to a flash site like newgrounds or kongregate. Downloading a swf file seems kind of silly

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Not sure if it's buggy or I'm missing something... The player seems to constantly end up outside of the screen regardless of what I do, any thoughts?

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:11pm

i got teleported into a wall. also, a doesn't move left. q does.

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:58pm

This seems really bugged, which is unfortunate. There was a huge amount of errors when I tried to play it.

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Some problems with the collision detection. Potentially interesting idea there, creating the floor/teleport (I couldn't tell unfortunately which) with clicks. Good job for first time.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Yep... collision detection is hard. It's damn hard. Nice try, though. It would help to have a few frames of death animation to know when I'm restarting the level.

May 1, 2013 @ 5:46pm

It's a nice idea, but your control scheme which I assume is broken makes it unplayable. I'd try to fix this ASAP because you have a good entry that people just can't play! It's a shame really.

HelkeGames says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Very minimalist game, great job.

finefin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:40pm

I like the pixel style ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]