April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Against the Current

by iambored2006 - Jam Entry

Your goal is to collect all the potatoes, avoid the spikes, and get to the exit, all by pressing one button. Enjoy!
EDIT: I should point out that the "Windows" version should work fine on Mac and Linux as well.

DROPBOX: https://www.dropbox.com/s/d8csiz624ur7xsi/Against%20The%20Current.jar?n=32452759

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#253Humor(Jam)2.24
#386Innovation(Jam)2.60
#430Fun(Jam)2.43
#441Theme(Jam)2.73
#454Mood(Jam)2.33
#498Overall(Jam)2.47
#507Graphics(Jam)2.23

Comments

glisk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Nice concept! Only I would have preferred a little more precision in level design and graphics. That said, nice game: playing with just one key is really into the theme ;)

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Level 5 made me want to kill things violently. It's an interesting idea, but I think it needs more tuning before it's properly fun. Some kind of animation for when the current changes for example.

Gama11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Really cool concept and minimalistic for sure, but overly frustrating. Couldn't get past level 5 which made it less fun than it could've been. The hitbox of the player felt a bit big, reducing the hitbox in size would already greatly improve playability (or just reducing the player's size in general so its easier to dodge things).

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Sorry can't download it from mediafire, anychance you could link it from dropbox?

lanz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Man, fifth level is hard! Hitbox is too big. Liked fun font!

iambored2006 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Thanks! Yes, I need to reduce the player's hitbox for sure. It's a shame some people won't get past level 5, the next 2 levels are easier and with portals, but it's up there now. @nintendoeats yes, I tried that, but it really slowed down performance for whatever reason.

iambored2006 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Done! Dropbox link is up!
Am I allowed to tweak the hitbox or change the order of the levels, or is that considered cheating?

Ernyz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Managed to complete all levels, but game needs some serious polishing :)

phi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:49pm

The hairs on his back are moving! Gross! ;)

Nice game, a little overpotatoed for my gusto. Also very frustrating.

phi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:51pm

The hairs on his back are moving! Gross! ;)

Nice game, a little overpotatoed for my gusto. Also very frustrating. Audio doesn't work for me.

iambored2006 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Nah, he doesn't have hairs. That's just my awful artwork.
I'm thinking of porting the game to Android, shouldn't be that hard. I'll then write my own collision code and tweak hitboxes and such.
No audio, I wasn't satisfied with the sounds BFXR supplied.

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:24am

The two spikes near the end of level five make it disproportionately hard compared to what came before. Also, sometimes you start so close to the screen's edge that it seems you insta-die right as you begin.

Still, good idea and it's pretty fun. Now just take it and make it even more unique!

GranaDa says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Cool game. Nice concept and levels. Level five is hard. Good job!

entrusC says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Interresting concept - even with a bit of Portal influence.

headchant says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Great idea! A bit hard but very good.

dalbinblue says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Fits the theme, but the currents do get frustrating especially with the large hit box when you get to the spikes.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]