April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Paper Concord

by zanzindorf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Enjoy. The mouse buttons are the only controls. Press the left mouse button to turn clockwise, and press the right mouse button to turn counter-clockwise.

There's only four levels, but I think they're pretty challenging. You're goal is to collect all the paper clips on each level.

Thanks for playing,
Zanzindorf

EDIT: I've had a lot of issues with the web port. I'm sorry if it doesn't work. The PC build should work just fine though.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#94Graphics3.94
#196Mood3.38
#224Innovation3.57
#491Overall3.23
#572Fun2.97
#816Audio2.25
#874Theme3.20
#899Humor1.79

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Looks nice.. too bad I'm not on my windows computer... I'll have to play this later!

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:03pm

This game looks realy nice. I found the controls pretty hard, and the plane turns a little too slowly i think.

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:10pm

That is a pretty neat game - The gameplay is fun and quite challenging, and the visuals of the game have a very consistent "theme", which is always nice.

Some suggestions:
- I feel that the backgrounds are a bit too busy. You could achieve the same effect I think you were aiming for without all the random floating objects in the background.
- The hitpoints for the airplane should be a bit more proeminent. It took me a while to realize there was a life count in the corner.
- A proper transition from "death" to "new life" would make the game feel much more polished.

Thanks for the game!

CMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Wow, that's pretty impressive. How'd you do the crunchy-paper objects? Seems like it should take ages to make something with that many polys.

Really quite hard - might help if you showed a view of the whole level at the start, then zoomed in to the plane?

No Unity web player? Might be a good idea, get more people playing your game. You can always stick it on something like Kongregate if you don't have web space.

zinfandel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Cool game!
Nice concept and art. I agree that the controls need to be more responsive and perhaps the first level easier so we can learn them better.

zanzindorf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Thanks for the feedback you guys. CMaster, the texture makes the object look more high-rez than they really are. Here's a picture of one untextured: https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B3xWIYE9dsVla1RLT001b2JocU0/edit?usp=sharing

Also, I can't get the webplayer to work. I know it should be really simple, but it just doesn't work.

MagiMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:24pm

The game would play a lot more smoothly if the plane turned a bit faster.

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Absolutely magnificent looking, and having everything made out of paper creates a very unique atmosphere.
The controls were sometimes ok and sometimes the plane just stopped for no apparent reason, which was kinda weird...

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Damn is this hard, right now the levels are waay to closed for controls like this. With more open ended levels and bigger collectibles it would be great!
Love the visual style though

CMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Just opened up your source files in Unity 4.1 Pro trial (the one that's part of the Ludum Deals) and was able to export it to a working web player. http://games.linxsoft.co.uk/files/games/ThePaperBaronWeb.zip if it's any use to you.

Jod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Lovely physics, a good learning curve and I just love the graphics! Both the scrunched-up paper backgrounds and the way my plane moves. Love it!

zanzindorf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:06pm

CMaster, thanks, but I still can't get it to run out of a Dropbox public folder. I'm going to have to find somewhere else to host it. This worked in the past. It runs just fine locally, but will not run out of Dropbox.

CMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Kongregate accept Unity submissions.

zanzindorf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:21pm

There! there's a web port now. I think it was an issue with my security settings. Thanks for the suggestions. Sorry it's so hard. You guys are right, I really needed more easy levels.

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:31pm

interesting concept but a bit too difficult imho. You should increase the turn speed or add some other way to get speed when on low altitude. :)

Milktoast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Love the artwork. Very challenging. Would like to see a very simple first level to get the hang of the mechanics.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Ha, this is great. Riding momentum is fun, and quite well implemented.

The 3-2-1 could be bigger, my first two tries were confusing because the plane didn't want to move for 3 secs.

HeyChinaski says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:08am

Very unique game in terms of visuals and mechanics. I liked it a lot. Couldn't quite finish the last level :( I wasn't good enough. Good job!

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:07pm

I would have been proud if I had made this. I love the whole "paper" styling of it. Very nice.

donan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Wow, the gameplay and visuals are really good. Control is a bit hard at first.

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Great use of gravity mechanics!

garygreen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:14pm

I struggled with the controls, but thought this was a great/unique idea. I really liked the graphic style too.

NateNaterson says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:30am

Wow, I loved the aesthetic! Was really difficult, but I had loads of fun.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:06am

The control is a bit hard.

dem0 says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:02am

The turning was kinda slow which made the game really hard, I didn't finish the second level. The artstyle is really cool and the audio fits in nicely.

May 14, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Change the web link from https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/16605964/ThePaperConcord/webplayer/WebPlayer.html
to
http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/16605964/ThePaperConcord/webplayer/WebPlayer.html

That is removing the s in https. weirdly having the s there makes sometimes makes the browser (chrome) say that you need to install unity web player even though you've got it. Removing the s makes that issue go away.. Don't ask me why :P

Zccc says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:40pm

This is excellent! It looks alot like my game, but way harder xD

zanzindorf says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Linus, that is strange... Thanks for pointing that out. I've been having a lot of issues with that. I never would have guessed how to fix that on my own.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]