April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalize

by CogentInvalid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a white square who wants to get green squares, but you have a terrible affliction that causes you to minimalize nearby blocks every time you press the spacebar. Show society that despite your disability, with the occasional help of blue squares you can get as many green squares as anyone else!

M to mute
WASD to move
Spacebar to minimalize
Click to rebiggify
After finishing a level: space to advance

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#30Theme4.30
#48Innovation4.02
#60Overall3.89
#70Fun3.73
#274Mood3.23
#285Audio3.15
#315Humor2.63
#477Graphics3.13

Comments

CogentInvalid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:01am

Just a warning: this game sounds ridiculously loud on one of the computers I tested it on and not on the others. In case this is a problem with the game and not with the computer, be prepared to press M if the game starts to make any lecherous advances on your ears.

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:41am

Nice Game! But I wish I knew how many... Rebiggies? Were in a blue block before I picked it up!

paranoiks says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:00am

Nice game. You should decrease the volume though

omaha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:32am

Nicely done. The audio is fantastic.

Kom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:42am

Having two different approaches of minimalism, both as a game mechanic, and resource-wise, makes me think that this fits the topic extremely well. An interesting mechanic added on top of simple platforming is pretty fun to boot.

gmaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:44am

it's really cool game, but unfortunately very easy )

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:47am

Won't start for me. Do I need to have mono installed?

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:50am

Really interesting game!

Lamprabbit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:51am

Sweet idea and really nicely executed! top work!

Tahooey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53am

Awesome Concept and loved the music and the puzzle aspect

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53am

Pretty cool, I like how it has two kinds of minimalism. A fun concept.

aeveis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:55am

Very nice! I think the difficulty level is good. Yeah having to figure out how many rebiggify's were in a blue pixel was a bit annoying, but otherwise very good concept.

Toestee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:59am

Very good, great idea.

dansludumdare says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:02am

Really awesome idea, looks and sounds cool too. I was using a trackpad so I got frustrated and stopped once I tried a level a few times (the one where you're supposed to go back and forth for powerups). But I also wish the jump button made you jump as long as it was held, so I could avoid minimizing blocks by just holding it and look elsewhere to click while doing so. Also so when I move off a 1-high ledge and jump in the air, I wouldn't fail at jumping and fall.

mikebolt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:05am

My favorite so far!

Jonatron says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:11am

This is a really clever mechanic and a unique take on the platformer game.

B says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:47am

Loved it :) Level 3 was a bit tricky, but I eventually got it!

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:41am

Rebiggify! Great Game!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:24am

Really lovely riddle design!

mchaza says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Fantastic game. cool concept, nice work! :D

3.14 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Minimalism at its best. Good game!

cacciatc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Solid game. :)

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Works fine on Linux if you get the source, unpack it in a new directory (for example "minimalize") and run "love minimalize". (Please put all the files in a directory next time!)

It’s a great idea and the animation of disappearing squares looks good! However I found the control a bit stressful, especially since once space has been pressed there is no way to rest until the end of the level (and the music is unbearable after a while.)

Please allow the players to use arrow keys next time in addition to wasd (I don’t have a qwerty keyboard.)

niun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:11pm

What an amazing idea. Love it!

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:14am

Really cool idea but the key bindings are awkward for me and I couldn't beat the level where the blue thing is way to the right, I ran out of biggification units.

Also it kinda turned me on when I went inside the green squares, I don't know if that was the intended effect.

Canyon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:16am

I liked the game a lot. I like the music and the visual style. I liked the mechanic and to a degree the level design. But some later levels seemed frustrated me.

Stryphe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:25am

Nicely done!

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:19am

What can I say, this is the best game I've played so far. I wouldn't be surprised to find this game as one of the (if not THE) top rated games of #LD48. The minimalization effect is so cool, yet so simple. That's what makes this game so great. Congratulations, you nailed it!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Really good game! Simple yet challenging, innovative and is probably one of the best takes on the theme. Congratulations!

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:17am

Wow this is loud... but i like that... very cool game ... "Ick lieb dat game echt keule!" :D

KevinZuhn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:36am

I wound up stuck inside of the minimizing platforms pretty often, but aside from that I had a great time playing!

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:35am

What an awesome game mechanic! this game had me on the edge of my seat great job :D

May 1, 2013 @ 11:44am

Very well done game! Managed to beat every level. I really like how you used the theme, stage design was good and the gameplay very well executed. Good job!

mchaza says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:08pm

interesting game, great work!

HybridMind says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:38am

I had a great time playing this game. It was one of the most fun ones I've played this competition. I was compelled to keep trying a ton even when I was dying a lot on later levels. I couldn't manage to beat the level where you start in the box with a blue pellet and there is a long stairway going up and to the right. Couldn't get past that one despite 20-30 attempts. Great job though given the minimal aesthetic of this game. Really liked the dissolving and planting mechanic.

ilovepixel says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:54am

Nice game, I really liked the changing blocks.Great idea for puzzles.

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Hey this is a great game. Very cool!

HelkeGames says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Nice game, very minimalist!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:15pm

really nice concept. It's a good idea. The character is a bit too slow, it's frustrating else...good job !

MinionStudios says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Fun and really smart design! I love the mechanics...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]