April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

BloxMin - by Lody - Ludum Dare 26

by lody - 48 Hour Compo Entry

- arrow keys to control player
- move to start level
- watch bottom right for hints
- find all of the tiles of each color to move on

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#408Theme3.68
#529Innovation3.15
#889Audio2.11
#1015Humor1.55
#1066Graphics2.34
#1111Overall2.60
#1116Mood2.23
#1118Fun2.29

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:14pm

I like how intuitive this is, I didn't like how I couldn't find the blocks. I'd say that balances out.

yinbar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Cool idea, works well with the theme. I did just find myself staring at the circle in the bottom right as I moved for most of it though.

lody says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:18pm

- guide in bottom-right gives you a general direction until you get close to a target and also shows your proximity by getting bigger as you get closer. Hope that helps. Enjoy!

AndyBumpkin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:20pm

There was quite a satisfaction to be had by finding the tiles for sure! Although past that I did wonder why I was doing it at all :)

There wasn't much of a challenge, I half expected bad guys to start flying around so that it wasn't just as straight forward as finding the right square to activate.

Pretty nice otherwise, could have done with a touch of music imo ;)

CharlesBoury says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:36pm

It gives me the feeling I'm blind.
As @yinbar said, when I play I stare at the hint and see the level only when I win.

It's like programming, a deferred creation.
I like it.

papa_troll says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Nice idea, and quite different - nice for innovation. Found myself playing this and only looking at the hint in the corner, and not paying much attention to the main window!

jlm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:09pm

My problem was also ending up staring at the hint the whole time :)
Maybe if the player circle was the hint instead.

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Nice - I think this kind of game might be done without any art at all, just with sounds

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Amazing idea, quite well designed

lody says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Thanks for the comments. I played staring at the hint while testing as well.
jlm: that might have worke out better if the hint was the player.
Shigor: lol, that would be more minimal.

Diamonde says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:17pm

It was simple, and very interesting at the same time. I like the little helper dot in the lower right. It feels very similar to the hotter/colder(?) game we all played when we were children :)
The choice of colors was a bit though on the eyes though! :D

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Took me a while to figure out what was going on - but then it was pretty addictive!

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:20pm

not really sure how the bottom right works, though a good game

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Strangely addicting. Very nice.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Nice idea, I really liked how you used the color dot as a compass. great game!

Jalict says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Not sure if I did things wrong or right. It said next level, but the audio sounded like I did things wrong. I liked the idea though, so that's a big plus.

ps3master72 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:52pm

This is an awesome game, i could not stop playing and i eventually beat it! 5/5

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Liked the hidden info. The helper wasn't obvious at first, but once I found him, it was nice. Good use of the concept. Liked the exploration factor. Nice entry!

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Interesting idea. I think it's a little too minimalistic as regards gameplay.

namuol says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Hmm. Can't play in Ubuntu Linux 12.10 because it doesn't support Flash 11.4 (I have 11.2 :( )

infernet89 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Really original idea, love how you don't need any explanation on how it works, even if is an unique idea!

Switchbreak says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:02am

Oh jeez, I am very confused by this game. It seems very mysterious.

Robrock55 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:40pm

It's a cool idea, the hints are very useful.

muton says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:42pm

It's cool, I like the way it looks and the simplicity... Can't help feel like it needs one more element though - time limits, maybe?

Alucard J says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:22am

The 'help guy' was done well, displayed the direction and proximity nicely. I agree this would go well as the player object, also with some enemies moving around would make it more of a challenge. Nicely done =]

evilseanbot says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:18pm

I thought that having the guider give you a direction at first made things somewhat confusing when it stopped giving you directions. Maybe it would've been better without the direction helper?

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:03pm

What have I just done? :D I just followed that little radar thing in the lower right and the levels basically solved themselves. Not sure if I played this right ;)

May 8, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Simple game that does go really well with the theme. A little visually disorienting but I guess that's just me.

kibertoad says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:39pm

I really liked how simple this entry was. It embodies the theme of minimalism quite well, I think. It was a bit confusing at first, but I caught on to the way the hint worked rather quickly. Good job!

stqn says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Tells me I need Flash 11.4.0. All other Flash games worked until now. I have Flash 11.2.

May 19, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Minimalistic, but not that much fun... Sorry to say so! :(

JonathanG says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:49pm

It's quite entertaining to follow the clues and find the blocks, but I wondered if it could be improved with a little challenge. Perhaps a time limit, or a penalty for moving onto blocks that have already been found?

lody says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Great thanks to all who have commented and tried/rated the game.

I am continuing to tweak and test changes to this game with the hopes of releasing it. It might stray a bit more from the minimalism, but become more fun to play in the process.

Thanks again!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]