April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mandala

by MuffinTrap - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Like an ever changing mandala, the material world constantly changes and promises us pleasure in the immediate future. But each such moment appears suddenly and disappears quickly . The ever longing mind remains restless and suffering.

Wise one is not heeded by the promises of wonder, but finds joy in this moment and accepts that suffering comes and goes as the wheel of life turns.

#Update 29.4 23:00 GMT+1
Does not crash anymore if OpenAL context cannot be created.
Made more clear how to start the game.

#Update 02.5 19:45 GMT+1
Removed unnecessary files. Now just 1.2 megabytes.
Made a new build targetin x86, now it should work on 32 bit windows too.


Controls: WASD and P. Collect Green, avoid Red.
Requirements: .NET Framework 4.5

Tools and stuff used: Visual Studio 2012, C#, OpenTK, FamiTracker, bfxr, Audacity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#363Graphics3.32
#624Audio2.59
#940Fun2.56
#967Overall2.78
#984Theme3.06
#1048Innovation2.39
#1775Coolness26%

Comments

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:08am

Can't start it because there's no Win32-version. :(

frr171 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:30am

Awesome music and trippy graphics - although some of the depth seems to be off, which made me a bit dizzy.

Hemuuuli says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:32pm

I loved the sense of speed, epileptic spinning and nauseating controls!

Works fine in 32-bit Win7, except music didn't play but I played it manually from the assets directory.

Fritzendugan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Very annoying the amount I had to download just to get this app to run. I don't really like to install things onto my computer that I feel like I don't need (.NET frameworks). It wasn't a small or short download, and it required me to restart my computer. I'm sure I'm not alone in this. Also depending on those technologies limits your available audience and who can play your game. Might want to consider these things in the future. We work within the toolsets we're familiar with, of course, but perhaps you want to learn some more tools ;P

Anyway, not trying to be harsh, just being honest. As for the gameplay itself, it was an interesting concept. The visuals were enticing. However, I felt as though the player was too far away from the front of the screen, and this made it confusing when I tried to grab the rectangles as I couldn't tell which I had already passed and which were in front of me. Combine that with the fact that the triangles move at variable screens, and I had almost no hope of doing anything other than randomly moving around and hoping I hit green triangles and not red ones. Had you moved the player back to almost on the same level as the "viewing window", I think that would've helped a lot.

Music was very fitting, and the sound effects were effective without hurting my ears, so good job on sound.

Arkazon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:15pm

My eeeyyyeeesss, what have you done? Ahem. Very weird looking game.

I had absolutely no idea where my trianglar character was in relation to anything else, as Fritzendugan says it's basically random whether you collect anything or not since you can't tell where the player is. Other than that the graphics were fun, just needs a little help on the depth perception!

lanz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Yes, definitely need depth hints. Otherwise cool graphics and sound. I liked landscape and floating living figures, also loved how PC triangle gets distorted over time.

HelkeGames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Nice game, well done!

tankete says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:11am

Not sure I understand how to control the game. Whether I "used" the controls or not, I didn't see any difference. Liked the visuals, though.

MuffinTrap says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Thanks for comments, I appreaciate them all.
The depth cue is a sore problem. I think that 3D models for the collectibles, lighting and some distance cues or such would have helped a lot. Had no time to implement because of the problems I had with the sound.

I wanted to create the controls in such a way that the player needs to actively control the ship all the time and use timing instead of going straight to the right position (this does not help much now, that the right position is so hard to see :P)
The .NET framework requirement would annoy myself too. I don't know yet if I can go around it, bundle the required files with the game or target an earlier version that people might already have.
And thanks for the comments on music. I just made it so fast but seems I hit the spot well enough.
I am looking forward to next Ludum Dare and I hope I have gotten rid of the technical problems by then.

ramoncb says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:55pm

the controls are a little weird, but love the sound and have graphics quite unique, remind me of Starfox for SNES

good job!

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:00pm

You get 5 for mood... this is a real retro! I went into a trance.

sudorossy says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Pretty cool!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]