April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Neolithic

by MemphisTen - Jam Entry

Hello friends! We hope that you like our tiny puzzle platformer. Press "E" to open the inventory and choose between different shapes to get through the level. You might also drag and drop the shapes with your mouse after you placed them. We are curious to read your opinions.

We admit that this one is a little buggy. But it is self-coded in Java and we had some problems with the bounding boxes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#315Audio(Jam)2.75
#364Graphics(Jam)2.86
#369Innovation(Jam)2.65
#373Mood(Jam)2.63
#449Fun(Jam)2.35
#489Theme(Jam)2.50
#530Overall(Jam)2.25
#1636Coolness35%

Comments

SpitefulFox says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:29am

The game appears to be unplayable. My computer tells me the jar file is corrupt.

MemphisTen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:31am

ok... this error is new to us. you are supposed to see the bugs INSIDE of the game :)

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:32am

i like the idea but i got stuck at the first gap in my first try :D http://snag.gy/g64L0.jpg in my next try http://snag.gy/Utht1.jpg happened. i managed to finish the level but the game quit at the loading screen for level 2 :(

alcazar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:35am

The game is unplayable...

LionelJitro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:50am

Pretty neat concept.

There are quite a few bugs but it definitely took hold of minimalism.

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:51am

OK... a nice little platformer, but you need to say somewhere that clicking on the inventing bubble with the mouse is how you make boxes. Also, when I got to the second level, the game just exited on me.

moomoo112 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:51am

played a little bit and then it just closed without warning on me..

TehSkull says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:52am

Game works fine for me, sort of. Is there a level 2 or was that just a placeholder? If there IS a level 2, then it crashes every time I try to open it.

Neat idea, but needs to be more fleshed out.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:53am

Innovative! It crashed when I beat level 2. It took me a while to figure out that you could make blocks, and it took me a while to figure out that you could drag them around afterwards (except when you're stuck in a valley, in which case it seems a bit buggy). Collision detection is hard, eh?

MemphisTen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:57am

collision detection IS hard! this was our first try doing it by ourselves

myachin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:31am

i see only white screen after the first screen where i press space to start...

foul says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:39am

Nice graphics and music so far, I like how the characted dances when holding space :) I would suggest to leave only one block (can be allready spawned), so you have to figure out how to use it in the level environment (it does not need to scroll and have numerous of gaps in a level - will be more appealing if you see the waiting girl at the right sight just from the beginning). At level 2 the game crashed (i can send you the error report).

LoneStranger says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:42am

Liked the idea, but the controls are not very intuitive. I had to read comments here to realized that I had to click the desired object. I do like the idea of calling down the blocks, but if they aren't placed right you can't do anything except reset.

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:03am

simple concept.. but maybe when you reset your level the boxes you create should reset too? :-P
but great.

May 8, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Sadly your game just crashes on my WinXP (32-bit) laptop, when I try to start it. :( No error message though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]