April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SquareRoot

by Masadow - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the square, move to the finish on each level and discover how colors affect you. Beat the game and be happy of that :D

Easter potategg !

*SPOIL*
Some people are a bit confused about the red shapes. It affects the keyboard input by rotating it. ;)
*/SPOIL*
Commands:
WASD/Arrows keys: Move square
+/-: Adjust audio level
ESCAPE: Go back to level selection

ps: A big thanks to your comments, I'm very proud and pleased to see how much people enjoyed it. I will do as a sequel an even more complete game after based on this concept !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#318Audio3.10
#319Fun3.25
#327Humor2.61
#390Overall3.33
#483Theme3.61
#617Innovation3.05
#639Mood2.79
#983Graphics2.48

Comments

Gustera says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21am

The last lvl is EPIC hahah

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:22am

Were you potatonuked ? :D

FredericRP says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:23am

Minimalism and a lot of levels, that's a right combo !
The music can be a little annoying as it starts from the start in each level, but that's a detail, good game !

ella guro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:33am

i was totally confused by the level selection screen, but it figured it out eventually =P. i feel stupid but i can't get past screen 5. don't know how to get past the red zone. what i've seen seems a little rough around the edges, but i also really like it in a lot of ways!

grimpunch says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:11pm

I found it frustrating. :P Good job.

Stiju says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Level 8 was great!

errorage says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Quite a nice game, however this may work better with an analog input tho. I found myself in the situation a few times where I couldn't quite fit in a narrow gap, but knew that if I tapped the arrow key in the direction I had to move in, it'd overshoot and hit the wall. An analog input device could make it possible to increase movement precision (IE Move in the direction of the mouse, how far away the mouse is determines the speed) - Just a thought.

eShredder says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:13pm

The graphics are minimalistic, indeed. Each colour alone shows their function in the game. Good job there.
The overall look on the game is, again, minimalistic, following the theme of this Ludum Dare. Full score.
The gameplay is simple enough to learn without any tutorial. Twas a great idea to add one new colour at a time to let the player get the hang of it.
Overall. Purdy job.

YM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Really like the idea that each colour does something different, controls felt just a little too slipery for fine control and wall-avoidence but overall very nice. :)

arnaudmolle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:55pm

I love this game simple but totally fun. The music is a little bit aggressive.

neight says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Thanks for playing PHILIP KLAS. Square Root is pretty killer.

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Lol I love the tutorial text :D I'm guessing you possibly wrote that near the end when you were tired and couldn't be bothered?

OH LORDY I HATE THE RED PARTS ARGH!!!

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:38pm

@Casino Jack No, I wrote it at the beginning since I was in a hurry. I started very very late and didn't have much time :D

Anyway, instructions must be minimalist, no ?

igrowbeards says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:15pm

A very solid entry :) The controls were too sensitive for my tastes - but other than that it was a lot of fun.

DST says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Great idea and well implemented! :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Wow do I hate the level in the screenshot. Always sliding into things... Needs more sound effects I think.

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Excellent work! Suited the theme perfectly and was very fun to play. One of my favourites so far. A few simple mechanics can go a long way. Great pacing of the main guy.

Felix20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Nice game, it was fun and the music is good. The art is certainly minimalistic, but the only graphics I really liked were the level select screen.
Overall pretty good entry.
Also POTATONUKED!!!

iamorim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Thanks for your comment about my game! :)

Nice game you have here. It's the kind of game that you want to keep playing even when you lose and get angry XD

jerombd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:48pm

30 levels is not enough: I want MOAR ;) Overall a nice/little/pretty/solid entry!

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Man, really need to be on top of the keys to not overshoot some of those edges. Pretty challenging sometimes, a lot because of the overshooting problem I guess, but also decent puzzle design.

Galvesmash says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Great puzzles! Cool game!

Jacob says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Solid entry! Quite difficult for someone with no patience like me.
Could benefit from a bit more feedback on death, tuning of controls (acceleration/deceleration) and polish (PARTICLES AND SCREENSHAKE! OMG)

Awesome audio, really loved the music. Some SFX would bring it to the next level of awesome.

Hyaku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:45pm

LOL I have laughed with the unexpected ending. ^_^

Prelucid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Cool, tricky!

netguy204 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:07am

Very terrain modified motion mechanic. It turns what doesn't look like a puzzle into something that feels fun, tricky, and kind of like a puzzle. You should build on this!

I laughed when I hit the red terrain. You taught me instantly how it worked by the way you designed that puzzle and my approach and you did it without frustrating me. Well done.

The music was good. The graphics need polish (I think a more careful color scheme and more consistent dimensioning of objects would do the trick.)

I'd love to see the interplay of terrains in this game. Also, would love to see objects that push but don't kill. Those could combine into some interesting scenarios. Objects that I can push that also interact with the terrain would be very interesting.

Well done. This is cool now and on its way to something quite cool.

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:27am

Cool. Super minimalist. Liked the different color elements. Some were definitely more frustrating than others. Narrative was good too.

Andy Go says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:27am

I've been potatonuked...
Good job :)

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:30am

Wow the best entry I played so far! The color affecting the player is such an amazing idea and being potato nuked made me laugh :)

The red is a bit frustrating at the beginning but once mastered it's quite funny, especially when switching between red and non-red.

Good job.

blackmagic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Great entry :)

tonic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Controlling is a bit too slippery/twitchy/fast, so it's pretty hard since touching gray area always respawns to beginning. Some of the levels/ideas are quite nice though.

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:34pm

tonic: That's what I wanted, a kind of hardcore game :D

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:22pm

I really really like this. Unfortunately it's a bit too massocore for me (the level in the screenshot was just more than I could handle). That might partially be down to my keyboard, but I just couldn't manage that level of precise movement. I think you have the makings of a really good game for that audience though!

Also, excellent music and visual style.

pighead10 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Couldn't complete that level in the screenshot! I found the fast movement and non-instant stopping time REALLY difficult to work with. It's a shame, I really wanted to play more of the game but the levels were locked. Soundtrack was great. Graphics were... minimal.

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Definitely minimalistic visuals. Interesting music.

Core mechanics are solid but the controls feel too slippery for me. I had a hard time trying pixel perfect movements, making the overall experience very hard.
That seems to be what you wanted, so good job on there.

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Minimal graphics- but that's the theme! Annoyingly the 6th level was off the screen so I couldn't beat it. Nice work though!

Purplescape says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Clever puzzle ideas!

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:14pm

qdowngames: Can you bring a screenshot ? Did you run it in a very small resolution ? Your issue seems weird for me

TheMaster99 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Definitely broke away from the typical "get from point a to point b without hitting the walls" genre with several different mechanics. Awesome music! Enjoyed playing the game.

Cryovat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:33pm

The different floors are a great concept, but the controls were a bit too much on the slippery side for me. I second the suggestion for analogue controls! :)

jhrrsn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:16am

The constantly changing mechanics were very enjoyable

MaxguN says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:23am

Nicely done and enjoyable. I like the mechanics.

whilefun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:11pm

I was potatonuked! That isn't nice. Very original idea, I thought. Catchy music too. Good work! :)

bentog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Potatonuked, weee :)

netmute says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Beautiful idea going on here :)

Gama11 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:51am

Really liked the concept. However, it gets a bit frustrating because hitboxes feel off - for example, you don't die immediately when touching a wall, but rather when you're already half into it. Also, circles uses squares as hitboxes that are bigger than they are. Consider the use of FlxCollision or decrease the size of the hitboxes.
In general, the movement speed of the player seems a little too fast considering the amount of precision required to complete a lot of the levels (or at least in the pink areas).

Being taken back to the level select screen after you complete one really breaks the flow of the game, because you are forced to pick up your mouse again in a game that is keyboard-based entirely. Just take me to the next level! :)

I liked the menu music more than the actual in-game music. I'd consider switching them.

deepnight says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Takes some time to get used to, but it proved to be an excellent game :)
Everything is pretty intuitive. And I hate orange.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Simple but fun. Cool game. Congratz!

May 5, 2013 @ 3:15am

Nice Entry!

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:50am

Simple but powerful!

klianc09 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:48pm

The red color is really annoying. The level select screen music is nice though.

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Inducing the rule of each color interested me. Each level gradually introduced new rules and increased the accuracy required. If you continue to develop this, I was less interested in timing of key presses and more interested in inducing rules. So the orange and black circles were exciting yet with my slower reflexes, I wanted to focus on anticipating the influence of color.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]