April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

BLoX

by ThirteenWB - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Issues:
There are some issues with the Java Web Applet on some systems.
There are no dependencies, however Java must be installed.

Overview:
BLoX, or "Blocks and a Lot of XOR" in full, is a tile-based game where you run around fighting the evil non-conforming coloured squares that have invaded your massive (read: infinite) dungeon.
Levels are procedurally generated as you descend and there is a levelling system that rewards you for your progress with more power and abilities (there are only two abilities to be gained, sorry).
The controls can be found on the tutorial section of the game. This can be visited at any point without loss of progress and the enemies there will even give you experience... but that's kind of boring.
Explore down the multicoloured levels and let me know if you enjoy it! It has been a fun two days, even if I do have an exam in ten hours :/

Edit: Removed the web version of the game as it just refuses to work as I want it to, sorry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#218Theme3.91
#427Overall3.29
#584Mood2.84
#595Fun2.94
#601Graphics2.97
#788Audio2.29
#790Innovation2.82

Comments

dracomagna says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:46pm

I played it a little, and I really liked how simple and addictive this game is ! It's like a pure hack'n slash pleasure.
Good job !

intrudergames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:19am

I feel the same way as dracomagna is like the essence of the style. Great entry!

HunLyxxod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:32am

I enjoyed this game. Simple and fun. Sadly, it became a little repetitive after 6-7 levels.

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Great job. Procedural generation is always a good exercise :D Had some issue with transitioning between levels in the applet, but desktop version is fine.

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:04pm

This is seriously the best entry I have played so far. Putting this ahead before even Piet dancing (which is a great entry, go check that shit out, btw)

I'm serious, simple, minimal and right on the spot. Amazing.

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Cool idea but very difficult. Could probably do with a way of healing.

Andrei Barsan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Nice little game, with an addicting feeling. The thing I would have liked to see is a HUD with your current stats such as lazer upgrade level and armor. I liked it! :D Nice and minimal.

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:04pm

@Mythalore
Sorry I completely forgot to mention that in the tutorial. If you don't get attacked for a certain amount of time your health begins to recharge. :/

@Andrei
I was wondering whether or not to include one, I didn't really want to make the window too congested with stats but I could make it part of the pause menu in a later version.

Thanks for the comments everyone. :)

Drabiter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:55am

Nice game. I would like to see better HUD, and permanent text about power like lazer because you can miss the notification while playing.

Hegemege says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:43pm

I liked the colors a lot, increased the mood of the game! I found myself battling the first two areas and then rushing forward to see if there was some content, so I died pretty quickly there. I couldnt figure out what the abilities did, I saw the message that you got the lazor but it didnt function or I just didnt know how to use it :P

Really simple and enjoyable game, fits the theme really well!

Yoni says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Very nice game. Could use some music, though

Joror says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Mimimalistic dungeon crawler, indeed. ;)

S0larCode says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:54pm

I'm pretty sure I ended at somewhere around -400 XP. Amazing game!

Tiago says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Nice simple game, just down to the basics of the gameplay and still enjoyable! good job!

nintendoeats says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:06am

I could never get the lazor ability to work.

What you have made here, in effect, is Call of Duty without the shooting. I don't know if that was your plan, but it's worked out that way. I leave it to you whether that is a good thing or not.

I quite liked the sound effect, and the levels had a good style to them.

It got difficult REALLY fast p_p

The Consul says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:33am

I have a hard time controlling my character. It often moves two steps insted of one, and it gets annoying. Great game though!

ThirteenWB says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:56pm

@The Consul, I'm not sure why but that sometimes happens in the web version. Assuming you ARE trying the web version, I would highly recommend downloading the jar as it's much easier to play :)

evoker says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:55am

Awesome! A minimalistic take on the ARPG genre.

Tifu says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:27am

Good game. I like the graphics that are simple, but the walls still show some depth. Never encountered an unbeatable level and there did seem to be a little variety (at least, I seemed to encounter levels that were just corridors and were more maze-like, and then more open levels) The enemies do seem to scale pretty quickly, making combat fairly suicidal when you can just use the laser thing. The only thing I found frustrating was when you respawn or enter a new area, it's not always obvious where you are. I died a couple of times just looking for my dude on the screen to find it was already being mobbed :(

DST says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:29am

Good looking game. I think it's really neat to use proceadurally generated levels, just coming up with the idea takes a lot of effort, implementing it as well as you did takes even more. :)

ThirteenWB says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:33pm

@Tifu: Yeah I understand what you are talking about, I was testing it and had the same problem but couldn't think of how to fix it since the player isn't always at the middle of the screen. :/

@DST: Thanks, luckily I didn't make any mistakes while coding that bit of it else I would've spent ages trying to fix it. :)

kibertoad says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:51pm

This entry was quite addicting. There is something very satisfying about killing blocks by mashing on the arrow keys. It gets even more fun when you unlock the lazor! The only thing I'd like to see changed is the addition of a bar to track your xp. Good job!

May 12, 2013 @ 12:15pm

@kibertoad The bar for XP is at the bottom, although it's really hard to see as it's a similar colour to the background :P

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]