April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

BEAN

by FenLudum - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#170Innovation3.65
#664Theme3.43
#875Humor1.82
#931Audio2.00
#996Overall2.74
#1053Mood2.33
#1141Fun2.26
#1176Graphics2.17
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

FenLudum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:11am

This is my first ever game jam and I really enjoyed it. Just glad to get something finished and be part of the community. I can see this becoming an addiction.

FenLudum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:40am

Fixed a win condition bug, uploading new version now.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:26am

I tried real hard but I couldn't master the bounce.

bummzack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:26am

I like the idea and innvation. Sadly the controls don't seem to work very well (rotating stops the bean mid-air and seems really strange). Other than that, well done!

ndssia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:29am

Cool concept, but a bit unforgiving at the start for me.

glisk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:30am

The idea is really nice, but I don't like controls that much, especially the rotation which freezes the bean while bouncing. Anyway great idea!

ToastyAbraham says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:31am

Entertaining game, little on the tough side

FenLudum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:34am

Thanks and taken on board. My idea for the freezing while rotating is that the game gets faster and stopping the bean allows you to line on the angle you want better. I just had an idea, what if normal rotation doesn't freeze the bean and you have the ability to enter 'bean time'? Perhaps have a bar that drains whilst using said ability.

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:47am

The game is pretty difficult! :P I like the gameplay a lot though, it's both simple and very addictive. Nice use of theme as well, the bean looks like an untextured standard cylinder, +1. I couldn't get past the first slope under the red ceiling, I tried going over and under but couldn't make it.

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Liked the game, kind of unplayable with a Magic Mouse though :P

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:03pm

It's very difficult

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:49am

Like the idea! Its quite slow though - up the gravity a little maybe? You can get stuck easily if you have no speed too :(

deathray says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:54am

I agree with some of the comments - the idea and innovation here are great, and it is a bit too hard! But I do actually kind of like the right-click 'pause' ability. I just wish i could spin it one way or another, not just one direction.

Greg Power says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:15am

Love the concept of 'Bean Time'.

FenLudum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:24am

@deathray, I did have it so you could spin both ways but then I minimalised it to one.

messiano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:09am

Now that's an original game! Instead of the mouse I think the keyboard would control it better.

Goodlookinguy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:14am

MadMichaelofMetal (using my brother's account)
Played it on the Relax Stream. Hard as heck. Don't let go of the mouse for the bounce like I thought originally.

theomnis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Maybe right clicking could rotate the bean in the other direction?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]