April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Karate Alien Color Attack

by papazoot - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In color space no one can hear you...
You are in control of Regreeb, karate alien on a trip to his home planet Caymak.
Collect colored blocks and avoid black ones to fuel Regreeb's ship.
Use A and D or arrow keys to control the ship.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#778Humor1.94
#807Fun2.71
#858Audio2.18
#1018Theme3.02
#1074Overall2.65
#1097Mood2.26
#1103Innovation2.27
#1186Graphics2.16

Comments

ndssia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:35am

Cool, reminds me a little of Audiosurf :D

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:02am

I really liked it!
The "fuel" changing the screen colour gave it a nice atmosphere. Even more so with the black blocks - it's awesome that playing badly makes the screen go darker.

One thing bothered me though, the ship seems inconsistent with the art style of the blocks...

Oh and I loved the about page :D

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:06am

Nice one, got 47k score. Fits the theme pretty good :P

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:41am

Wow, great surpris. I love the concept & sounds/colors change. It's really fun especially for childs i guess. Really interesting !

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:45am

Why does the ship have rounded corner but the enemies are just blocks lol Overall it's a good game

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Was there a difficulty curve in this? Seemed like I could play forever & ended up killing myself after about 5 minutes.

papazoot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Difficulty increment is triggered by your score. Chance to spawn black block increases up to 90%. Also speed increases up to a limit.

davidB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Web : doesn't work on linux (no Unity plugin)
Linux: Crash my user session (logout)

svenardo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Pretty good. Fun to see the background change as you pick up differently colored items.

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Like the background changing, wish it affected the gameplay a bit more.

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Fun for a short while... Background colour affected by which blocks you eat is nice. Could use some more types of thing.

CrazyGage says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:03am

good game. got to 32k. simple enough to play, but the 3 side-by-side blacks make it impossible in some spots.

Switchbreak says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:08am

I got 49188 points. Kinda fun, though there's not much skill to it. Doesn't seem to matter what colors you pick up, and a lot of times you can't avoid a black square at all.

papazoot says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:32am

One thing I didn't mention is that score is multiplied by max(red, green, blue) of the background.

Jesse111 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:18am

This is excellent! One of the highest ratings I've given so far. I really like how the pickups blend with the background color, and the variety of colors reminds me of old Commodore games. Good job!

SmilingCat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:56pm

I liked how the background color changed as you picked up the bars. Great job!

ilo says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Love the insane speed that builds up. Three black blocks in a row feels unfair (I got to a point with three rows each with three black blocks very close together which finished me off).

You should have made the multiplier effect more noticeable too, because that's a really cool idea.

davidpeter says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:09pm

I think the difficulty ramped a bit too slowly. If there was a slowly depleting fuel gauge it might add more difficulty as well. I gave this maximum points on fun, I love this kind of game :) High score: 48,679.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]