April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

WORDHUNTER

by gerritg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

About
====================
A Game about shooting characters. More and more of them are trying to kill you. If you shoot them, you'll get points. If you shoot them in order (aka a word) you'll get extra points.

Controls
====================
W A S D - Move
Left Mouse Button - Fire
Right Mouse Button - Delete word cache/Submit word for points
E - Bomb
P - Pause

Prerequisites
====================
You need have an up to date (1.7) java installed. I only tested with Java 7 x64 but it should run on x86. Maybe even with Java 6. Who knows. Edit: Doesn't work with Java 6.

Afterthoughts
====================
First entry, first game I kind of finished. Still a lot ideas left with no time to get them into the game. Watch my website (http://gerritg.de) for future updates.

Post-Compo Version
====================
Lots of bug fixes, slowdowns fixed, better spawning, better word possibilities, some new sounds & file size quartered.

Tools
====================
Eclipse 3.7
Gimp 2 (Artwork)
Paint (Screenshots ;))
BMFont
OpenMPT
sfxr
jarsplice

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#205Innovation3.60
#428Audio2.92
#459Graphics3.17
#664Theme3.43
#711Fun2.81
#756Humor1.96
#758Overall2.98
#852Mood2.59

Comments

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Neat idea, quite challenging to actually spell any words.

MauMaGau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Great fun! I'd never thought I'd see a shoot-em-up/scrabble crossover! I enjoyed the multitasking challenge, and having the option to just give up and shoot sh*t =D

Frib says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Interesting idea. It was quite difficult to make actual words because at some point there would be just too many of them to cherry pick the right letters :D

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:04pm

I like the style, and it feels good to play. Actually spelling a word is quite the task.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:06pm

The graphics were very nice and soft on the eyes. It was very hard to focus on spelling words due to letters spawning very close by and coming in fairly fast. I was made pretty much impossible to survive or spell once the green letters came in; I had to focus all my fire on them and even then some spawned so close as to kill me. Interesting idea!

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Good concept, well implemented. Could do with some better feedback when you submit a correct word. A bit too hard as well.

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Took me a while to get a word.

I dig the style, could have used a different color for the player entity to separate it more from the letter entities though.

Jools64 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:13pm

I think this is a really cool idea but I found it way to difficult to spell out words with such fast paced game-play and constantly moving targets.

The game felt good to play in general though, the controls felt good and the movement felt solid. I really like the simple look of the graphics too. The particles where a nice touch.

To summarize, this was a cool game with a nice idea but by the end I was just playing it like any other shooter and not even thinking about the spelling mechanic.

Good job!

EggDestroyer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Nice concept, smooth game, classic and solid gameplay with surprisingly satisfying sounds and fitting graphics, but yeah, it's really difficult to actually spell words.

I think one of the major problem is that every letter comes in with equal probability (ot at least that's what I think), so you may come up with 8 consonants (obviously W, X, Z...). That, and the unfortunate missing shots fucking up your word (for which I have no obvious solution).

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Neat idea and nicely presented. Sometimes I felt like the letters spawned right on top of me, and the hit boxes seemed a little too large. Some of the words didn't seem to get accepted (like tibia, TOTALLY a word).

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:18pm

As others have said it is quite difficult to spell any words.

Merkoth says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Tried to play under OSX 10.8, it didn't work :(

"Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: de/gerritg/wordhunter/Starter : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0"

No idea what this is. Not scoring of course!

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:48am

Really like the idea. It would make a fun multiplayer game :) Very nice minimalistic graphics.

May 1, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Cool idea, pleasant graphics and well implemented. As other people have said difficult to make a word, but a really solid entry!

gerritg says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Thanks for the feedback so far! I'll look into the posted issues and publish a fixed version. Maybe next week. I have some word for a couple of things:

- Words: Getting a word IS really hard. The idea was, that words are mixed up and spawned. I didn't finish that function so everything is random. Which makes it really hard to get a word sometime. It's like playing scrabble and everything you have is ZYYXZSQQO.
- Words Part II: I used a list of the 1000 most common used words and I'm not satisfied with that solution as there are missing a LOT of good & often used words. Maybe I should have used the top 10.000 ;)
- OSX error: No clue. Sound's like a mismatch of a lib. I'll look into that.
- Multiplayer: Sure. But first: Bug fixing, more enemies, joypad support.

May 2, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Congrats on your 1st LD entry.

JustinMullin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:45pm

I really really like the concept.

I definitely think your dictionary is way too small. It missed a lot of the words I threw at it. I'd recommend checking out http://wordlist.sourceforge.net/ or http://www.scrabbleplayers.org/w/Long_List if you're looking for word lists in the future, those both seem to be useful resources.

All that aside, though, this was a lot of fun, and very creative!

elbowroom says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:02pm

There were some issues with the gameplay mechanics, the fire rate is too high and the bullet speed is rather low. Also there were rarely enough vowels. It is a neat idea that requires more work to shine as a game.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:08pm

The movement would sometimes get locked and it would move on its own. I swear I spelled some words and it didn't give me any extra points.

Xanjos says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:11pm

It's a really interesting game idea and the graphics and audio were pretty nice. Kinda hard to get letters that can spell out a plausible word though. (Bear in mind I was playing the Windows initial compo version of the game)

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:56pm

What an incredibly simple yet effective idea! Crossover shoot-em-up with a word spelling game? Wow. So simple, so awesome.

As other have said, it was generally pretty difficult to actually string real words together but that just made it all the more satisfying when it happened!

Would love to see this get more developed! :D

GranaDa says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Can't run the web version (class error). Missed some vowels but it's a nice idea! Cheers!

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Oh! As an addition to the previous comment. It would be nice if the frequencies of the letters matched the language more. You can easily find such data: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Letter_frequency#Relative_frequencies_of_letters_in_the_English_language

I think it would make the game a lot more fun to play!

angelk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:30pm

I like the idea. I wasn't sure how to "complete" a word. Perhaps if there was a specific word the player was asked to spell and a time limit to spell it?

Zccc says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Wow, amazingly polished, but too hard :P

multikorv says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:10am

It looked really nice, but a bit frustrating at first. Maybe a bit hard. But I like the idea and implementation! Good job!

kddekadenz says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:46pm

sh launch.sh
Unable to access jarfile

My Milked Eek says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Cool concept, but it's hard to actually get words.

kyru says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Very good game, quite challenging.

gerritg says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:21pm

@kddekadenz
The generic JAR >should< also work on *nix systems (java -wordhunter.jar). The dotSH was made with jarsplice - seems like the only thing that works out of the box are the jars itself.

@angelk
Completing a word is as easy as pressing the right mouse button. But in some cases it still won't register a word since it only knows 10k.

@Cake&Code
After changing the spawn cache in the post-LD version it's easier to get a word. But for the full version (if I ever get to that) I'll include a lot more words. That's for sure :) Thanks for the links!

May 16, 2013 @ 12:01pm

I really liked the concept of the game, but I think it would've benefited from shifting the focus to either spelling words or shooting everything. It was far too challenging to spell words when there was 20+ chars on the screen, and they literally spawn 30~ pixels away from you at times, which makes you end up just dying.

I liked the simple graphics & audio though, everything goes well with the theme. ^_^

Good job! ~

henrykun says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 1:09am

Nice graphics and sounds, I like shooting as well, good game :)

May 19, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Very unique take on a genre mash-up and I think it resulted in a fun game. Good job with the aesthetics too -- stays true to the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]