April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Diet Simulator 2013

by greysphere - 48 Hour Compo Entry

With Diet Simulator 2013 now you too can experience the Thrills of Dieting(TM) from the comfort of your own chair, sofa or other sedentary position with access to an HTML5 capable device. You decide whether to eat healthy foods like broccoli and carrots, or 'live a little' and splurge on ice cream or cookies. Careful though, make sure to monitor your nutrient intake to avoid potential health complications. Diet Simulator 2013 is not responsible for any chronic diseases brought about through poor dieting choices.

Everybody now, "1-2-3 Diet!" with Diet Simulator 2013!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#68Humor3.57
#316Innovation3.43
#835Overall2.91
#898Mood2.54
#908Fun2.60
#1028Graphics2.40
#1069Theme2.94

Comments

puttputt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:53am

HAHAHAH, this made my day!

roaet says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:55am

I was really considering making something like this game due to my keto diet. I'm glad someone was on the same page as me! Love it. Thanks!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:55am

Neat! Simple, but still amusing.

mire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:58am

Great idea. Think the interface should explain more- not just calorie intake, but nutrition to maintain health. People are too caught up on the number of calories and forget about the important of overall nutrition. Would make a great learning game for all ages. Would love to see more.

Follett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00am

That was hilarious!

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:39am

Cool idea. Definitely an interesting take on the theme, made me smile.

bobo72a says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:50am

Great game! It's hard to get iodine though.

nicotuason says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:54am

Holy crap is this accurate? I uh... need to go buy spam

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:05am

Cute game, spam is apparently nectar of the gods.

heuermh says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:41am

Nice idea. Need more foods with iron in them -- where is the spinach and greens? :)

DaveDobson says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Very funny take on Minimalism. I died of anemia, but I'd gotten down near the target weight. It seemed like it was hard to win without knowing the nutritional values of some of the foods. Nice work!

filtoid says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:38pm

It was a fun game - and quick to finish so not too much of a grind and I did replay it. :)

manax says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Nice game, kinda hard. Died several times. Seemed like the weight loss didn't quite match my expectations, might have helped to just give a calorie counter as well. (But from a gameplay standpoint, maybe it was fine as is.)

Someone should talk to the person doing the shopping! All that damn pie & icecream & pizza, and often not nearly enough carrots!

MrBlade says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Great game! Feels like a text adventure. I love the black and white graphics. Certainly fits the minimalist theme. Great work! :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]