April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

please survive

by palsina - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My fisrt entry, excited and sleepy!

-How to play

It uses standard FPS controls

wasd or cursors to move and mouse to look
any mouse button to shoot


Your life bar depletes automatically and the only way to replenish it is to attack the enemy blue cores, but doing so turns them agressive and they will shoot back!


It was made only with the help of openFrameworks and its ofxSSAO addon. It uses just a couple of textures, the rest is procedural. I ran out of time and the game lacks sound and any configuration option but I hope you enjoy it.

- Some tips

Destroying enemy cores gives you life, and destroying an enemy completely gives you even more
The game is designed so stray bullets can easily activate enemies, be careful when choosing your targets. It's better to go after isolated ones
Don't stop moving, enemies always shoot where you are and theri bullets are not very fast

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#28Graphics4.26
#376Mood3.12
#471Overall3.25
#496Fun3.05
#713Innovation2.93
#863Theme3.21
#980Humor1.64
#1011Audio1.70

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:24am

Wow, this looks gorgeous.

Komradus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:30am

That was awesome. Don't know if it's intentional or not but you don't collide with other blocks.
This is a really cool concept and deserves to be developed further.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:32am

Not quite sure about how it fits the theme exactly apart from the graphic style, but the game is fun and looks great. Quite impressive for 2 days of work.

PaidGEEK says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:33am

Interesting concept and kind of mysterious story. Too bad there's no audio.

ella guro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:35am

i love the look of the blocks and the gun. i wish more games did stuff like that. in terms of balance - it would've been nice to see the cores turn red a little slower. it doesn't really allow you to renew your resources fast enough before shooting at you. also i wish there was some form of audio (though i def understand time limitations).

juaxix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:37am

SciFi Laser sounds in my head, while casting data structures in my eyes, a whole new virtual world to explore and ,survive! , loved it :)

Muu? says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:10am

For your first LD, this is a great entry. :D

DST says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:26am

Very nice indeed!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:32am

Nice, but the screen was upside down for me and I didn't see what to do?

nodoxi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:44am

It's unfair!
Red cubes shoot through obstacles

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:56am

Unfortunately I cannot run this, I am on Linux and I tried it with wine, it says
"GLUT: Fatal Error in openframeworks: pixel format with necessary capabilities not found."

zanzindorf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:58am

"You survived 30.1 seconds" :D That was my favorite. The graphics are fantastic. Good job.

MTO says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:01pm

I love how the blocks assemble from the sky, and the mysterious story adds a bit mood. The make your own enemies mechanic could be very strategic in a complete game.

Infin8 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Nice game! Procedural generation is always a great area to explore. I kept dying mysteriously though. Maybe an enemy landed on me or smth, but I never found out.

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Got up to 35.5s, this is difficult!

Orni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:10am

very cool game

the visuals were amazing. I love virtual worlds like this - it felt quite tron-like.

very well done :D

eteeski says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:35am

this was pretty cool. great use of cubes. visually this game looked very very good. I liked how the cubes fell from the sky. cool cube gun with how you did the recoil. It was kind of cool and different with how your cover turns into an enemy if you accidentally shoot it. pretty fun game. wish there was audio.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:05am

Nice Shooter! I love the cubistic style.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:15am

Level build looking awesome! As a visuals!

kreischweide says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:32am

Great graphics, wished for some sfx. Had fun :)

Zener says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Look incredible and plays very well, coder graphcs for the win!. Impressive first LD entry!

PixelIndigo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:57am

That was interesting. Really liked creation of the towers.

Oye Beto says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:46am

Nice graphics!
The "console" message at the beginning is cool and the way the cubes start falling to create the level looks awesome.

SamoojaMies says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:20pm

quite weird but good looking game!

agmcleod says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Really amazing. Figured unity, but even more impressed that it's all in C++.

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:40pm

I love the idea and wish the story would continue!

Ninjaxio says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Really great! Quite challenging, looking forward to seeing you make the finals!

Switchbreak says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Really pretty. I only made it to 85 seconds.

Detocroix says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:51pm

I really like the design of the weapon :)

psychomonster says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:16pm

How can I really survie this :) I love the graphics really mich... the mood fits perfectly to the theme... some futuristic sounds could make this game so much better... Enjoyed it !

May 6, 2013 @ 6:20am

Its nice, though almost too "hard" not immersive enough. Needed some more something to grab my attention, though fairly pretty and nicely put together.

alcazar says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:06am

Nice one dude :)

May 6, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Sadly it just crashes on my Win XP (32bit) laptop when I try to start it. :( No error message though.

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Very interesting. I love the look, and especially the animation of new enemies appearing.

JonathanG says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Pretty cool game with good flowing gameplay. I liked how you had to pick your targets, and how the level became more and more crowded. Could seriously do with some thumping soundtrack and retro sound effects. The console style intro sequence was neat and the tech was impressive. Could be fleshed out to have some way of winning (reach a time limit?) and some extra levels with different colour themes, so as an idea it certainly has potential.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]