April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Zombies Ate My TItle

by billybombill - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello! This is my first time actually finishing Ludum Dare so... yeah :D This is a Binding of Issac / Diehard (NES) style game where you must kill all the zombies in a room to advance. The rooms are randomly generated (square room with zombies). Since I'm too lazy to re-explain it here's the 'How To Play' page (this can be found ingame)

"Avoid and kill zombies. Ammo is limited so try not to miss. Focus your attack on a single enemy so you have enough ammo to finish it off! There are no health pickups, only ammo. Some zombies carry guns and will shoot back at you, and all zombies will do contact damage."

Engine: Haxepunk/NME
Graphics: Paint.net
Editor/IDE: Sublime Text

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#521Graphics3.07
#538Fun3.00
#721Overall3.00
#874Theme3.20
#1192Innovation2.13
#1894Coolness17%

Comments

Eternal_Rest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:28pm

If you provide a "windows" version, it should contain an exe or at least an index.html to load the swf.

billybombill says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Added an html file for it. I would export it to windows/html5/etc but there was some problems when exporting it, hopefully I'll be able to fix that

tcstyle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Fun little game. Quite difficult after some rooms running out of ammo. Guess that's supposed to be.
Btw, yeah HaxePunk ;).

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:51am

Gameplay did remind me of Binding of Isaac. I liked the use of limited ammo; it made rushing toward the stuff lying around more intense XD. Quite difficult, too.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:24am

Really cool, Shame about the rogue health bar, but it gameplay is solid. One thing I would say would be it's a little difficult. Nice work anyway!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:27pm

That's a very good start !

LTyrosine says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:58am

Really your first game? VERY well done, controls are ok, nice graphics and very nice sounds.

Tyro says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:19am

The gameplay was pretty fluid and the graphics were dandy. Maybe you could make it so that every so often, an ammo pickup will spawn in a room if the player is out? That would give them a way to keep playing if their shots get dispersed by a group of zombies.

Really classy first LD entry, all in all. Looking forward to your future works!

GameNacho says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:52am

I like the graphics and it's a pretty fun game too!

MinionStudios says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Great little game! over 700 points get

dalbinblue says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:06am

Cool game, but quite hard, I ended up loosing nearly all my life when I spawn in a room and a zombie with a gun spawns next to me.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]